
PERS/SERS/TRS Plans 2 and 3
Thinking About Working After Retirement?
Washington State Department of Retirement Systems

This publication describes what could happen to your Public 
Employees’ Retirement System (PERS), School Employees’ Retirement 

System (SERS) or Teachers’ Retirement System Plan 2 or Plan 3 benefit 
if you return to work for an employer covered by one of the state 
retirement systems. You can return to work for an employer not covered 
by a Washington state retirement system without impacting your 
monthly benefit unless you are a disability retiree.

You must fully retire before you can be covered under  
return-to-work laws. To do so, you must:

•	 Meet the age and service requirements for retirement
•	 File an application for retirement with the Department of 

Retirement Systems (DRS)
•	 End all employment with any DRS-covered employer(s)
•	 Sever all contractual agreements (written or verbal) for 

future employment with your DRS-covered employer(s)

Taking these actions will establish your effective retirement date 
as the first day of the month following the month in which you 
left employment. 

Example 1
Maria applies for retirement and terminates her employment 
Aug. 15, 2015. She meets the age and service requirements. 
Her effective retirement date is Sept. 1, 2015. 

Example 2
Quinn applied for retirement and terminated his employment 
July 15, 2014. He had enough service credit to meet the 
requirements for retirement. However, he did not meet the 
age requirement until July 15, 2015. His effective retirement 
date, therefore, was Aug. 1, 2015. 

What should I do before I return to work?
Before you return to work for a DRS-covered employer, 
tell the employer you are a retiree. If the employer doesn’t 
know you are retired, you could be reported as an active 
member, which might stop your benefit. Ask the employer about 
your eligibility for membership in a DRS or higher education 
retirement plan. If you have questions, contact DRS.

Questions 
answered inside 
this publication

How soon can I return  
to work?

What if I return to 
work before my 
effective retirement 
date?

How many hours 
can I work each year 
and still receive my 
benefit?

What happens if I 
work more than the 
annual limit?

What if I am  
receiving a disability 
retirement?

What if I retired as  
a dual member?

Can I return to active 
membership in 
another system?

Which hours count  
toward the annual 
limit?

When do I become a retiree?
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How soon can I return to work?

You must wait at least 30 consecutive days 
after your effective retirement date before 
returning to work. 

If you return to work for a DRS-covered 
employer in any capacity before 30 days have 
passed, your benefit will be reduced by 5.5 
percent for:
•	 PERS or SERS: Every eight hours you work 

in a month — up to 160 hours
•	 TRS: Every seven hours you work in a 

month — up to 140 hours

If the reduction is more than your monthly 
benefit, the excess will be taken from the next 
month’s payment. The reduction will continue 
until you stop working for a full 30 days. 

What if I return to work before 
my effective retirement date?

If you terminate employment and file a 
retirement application but return to work 
before your effective retirement date, your 
application for retirement will be canceled. 

Because you will not be considered retired, you 
will return to active membership if you return to 
an eligible position, and you will be required to 
pay member contributions.

How many hours can I work each 
year and still receive my benefit?

The rules that determine the number of hours 
you can work while continuing to receive your 
benefit depend on how you choose to retire.

Normal retirement or early retirement not 
using the 2008 Early Retirement Factors 

(ERFs)¹:  You will keep receiving your monthly 
benefit if you wait at least 30 consecutive  
days after your effective retirement date and 
work:
•	 For a DRS-covered employer in a  

position that is ineligible for membership 
in a DRS or higher education retirement 
plan (HERP)

•	 As a substitute for a school employer
•	 867 hours or fewer in a calendar year in an 

eligible DRS- or HERP-covered position(s) 
(Your monthly benefit will stop if you 
work more than 867 hours in a calendar 
year. Your monthly benefit will resume 
following your last day of employment or 
at the beginning of the next calendar year, 
whichever comes first.)

•	 As a contractor with a DRS employer

Early retirement using the 2008 ERFs²: If you 
retire before age 65 using the 2008 ERFs, the 
rules are different:
•	 You can’t work in any capacity for a  

DRS-covered employer and continue to 
receive your monthly benefit. If you return 
to work, you won’t receive your monthly 
benefit for any month in which you work. 
Your benefit will restart the first of the 
month after you stop working. Once you 
turn 65, you can work under the rules 
previously described. 

•	 If you are a Teachers’ Retirement System 
(TRS) member, the rules are temporarily 
different for you. As a retired teacher, you 
can return to work exclusively as a K-12 
substitute teacher and continue receiving 
your TRS benefit during the first 867 hours 
you substitute teach each calendar year. 
This opportunity is available through July 
31, 2020.

•	 You cannot earn compensation from 
a DRS-covered employer for services 
performed as a contractor and continue to 
receive a monthly benefit.

¹ Higher education employers may not offer participation in HERP to retirees (or members who are eligible to retire) from any DRS-administered 
retirement plan listed in RCW 41.50.030. If you’re a rehired retiree who was participating in HERP before July 1, 2011, you may continue to do so.

² PERS, SERS and TRS Plan 2 and Plan 3 members hired on or before April 30, 2013, may choose to use the 2008 ERF at retirement. To qualify, 
members must be at least 55, have at least 30 years of service credit, and retire on or after July 1, 2008, for PERS or Sept. 1, 2008, for SERS or TRS. 
For more information, see Thinking About Retiring Early? available on the DRS website.

http://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/retireearlypers_sers_trsp2p3.pdf


Washington State Department of Retirement Systems

3

What happens if I work more 
than the annual limit?

If you are employed in a PERS-, SERS- or 
TRS-eligible position and work more than 
the allowed 867 hours, your monthly benefit 
will be suspended for the remainder of the 
calendar year or until you terminate your 
employment. In the month you exceed the 
limit, your benefit will be prorated.

Example
Min retires effective Jan. 1, 2015, and 
returns to work in a PERS-eligible position 
Feb. 1, 2015. She works for the remainder of 
the year. On July 11, 2015, she exceeds 867 
hours of employment for the calendar year. 
Her benefit is suspended beginning July 12, 
2015. She receives a partial monthly benefit 
for July 1 through July 11. Min’s benefit 
restarts Jan. 1, 2016.

What if I am receiving a disability 
retirement?

If you are a disability retiree, returning to 
any kind of employment could affect your 
monthly benefit. 

Your return to work could mean you are no 
longer disabled and, therefore, no longer 
eligible to receive a disability retirement. 

If you retired because of a disability and are 
considering returning to work, contact DRS.  

What if I retired as a  
dual member? 

A dual member retiree is someone who  
has combined service credit earned in  
more than one retirement system to qualify 
for retirement. If you retired as a dual 
member, contact DRS to find out the impacts 
returning to work will have on your monthly 
benefit.

Can I return to active  
membership in another system?

You are not required to return to PERS, SERS 
or TRS membership, but you may choose 
to do so if you are employed in an eligible 
position. If you retired from PERS, SERS or TRS 
with fewer than 15 years of service credit, you 
may become a contributing member of PERS; 
SERS; TRS; Law Enforcement Officers’ and Fire 
Fighters’ Retirement System (LEOFF); Public 
Safety Employees’ Retirement System (PSERS); 
or Seattle’s, Spokane’s or Tacoma’s first-class 
city retirement systems. 

However, your PERS, SERS or TRS benefit could 
be stopped, pending termination of your 
employment. 

Recalculating your benefit
If you return to active PERS, SERS or TRS 
membership, your future retirement could 
be impacted. If your retirement status 
is terminated because you return to 
membership, your monthly benefit will be 
recalculated when you reapply. 

If you first retired early, the actuarial value 
of the monthly benefit you received might 
be assessed against your second retirement. 
Contact DRS for an estimate before 
resuming membership.

Which hours count toward  
the annual limit?

All hours for which you receive 
compensation count toward the annual 
limit. This includes paid holidays or 
compensatory time, sick leave, and annual leave 
taken in place of normal work hours. 

Sick leave or annual leave that is cashed out 
at the end of an employment period doesn’t 
count toward the limit. 

Cashed out compensatory time does count 
toward the limit.
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This document is a summary. It is not a complete description of working after retirement. State retirement laws govern your benefit. If a 
conflict exists between the information in this document and what is contained in current law, the law governs.

Overpayments and underpayments: If you 
receive an overpayment of your monthly benefit, 
you will be required to repay it to DRS. If you 
receive an underpayment, DRS will correct the 
error and pay you the amount owed.

Health care: If you have retired from state 
government, a public education institution or a 
local government employer participating in the 
Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB), you have 
the option to return to PEBB-sponsored coverage 
when you return to full retirement status. 

If you have questions about your health care 
coverage, contact the Health Care Authority 
at 800-200-1004 or visit www.hca.wa.gov. If 
you have retired from employment with a local 
government, you will need to coordinate with 
your employer and health care provider to 
determine your health care options.

DCP: If you are receiving payment from the 
Deferred Compensation Program (DCP), 
returning to work won’t affect your payments. If 
you are not yet receiving payment and return to 
work, you can continue making contributions to 
the plan up to an annual maximum contribution 
amount, depending on your income. If you 
have questions, contact DCP at 888-327-5596 or 
dcpinfo@drs.wa.gov.

Contract work with a Washington state 
educational institution: If you are a TRS retiree, 
your employment status and rights differ from 
those of an active, tenured teacher. The duration 
of a return-to-work contract is limited to one 
year. However, a contract can be renewed each 
year at the discretion of your employer. For 
more information, contact the Office of the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) at 
360-725-6000 or visit www.k12.wa.us.

General information

To contact DRS

Call
Phone	 360.664.7000
	 800.547.6657
TTY	 711

Write
Department of 
Retirement Systems
PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA 
98504-8380

Email
recep@drs.wa.gov
It might be possible for other 
people to read messages 
sent over the Internet. If you 
contact us by email, please 
include only the last four 
digits of your Social Security 
number.

Visit
6835 Capitol Blvd.
Tumwater, WA 98501
Directions are available on the 
DRS website.

Hours
Monday - Friday 
8 am to 5 pm Pacific Time

Website
www.drs.wa.gov

You can also send us email 
through the DRS website.  
Visit the Contact Us page. 

http://www.hca.wa.gov
mailto:dcpinfo%40drs.wa.gov?subject=
http://www.k12.wa.us
mailto:recep%40drs.wa.gov?subject=
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm
http://www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm

