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Public Employees’ Retirement System

ﬂ PERS Plan 1 summary

PERS Plan 1 is a defined benefit plan.

When you meet plan requirements and retire,
you are guaranteed a monthly benefit for the
rest of your life.

Your monthly benefit will be based on your
earned service credit and compensation while
a member of PERS Plan 1.
In most cases, this formula will be used to
calculate your monthly benefit:
2% x service credit years x Average Final
Compensation = monthly benefit

In most cases, Average Final Compensation
(AFC) is the average of your 24 consecutive
highest paid service credit months. Your

benefit can be no higher than 60% of your AFC.

You and your employer each contribute a
percentage of your salary or wages to help
fund the plan.

You contribute 6% of your salary or wages to
your retirement plan. This rate is set by law.

The Washington State Investment Board
(WSIB) holds in trust and invests those funds as
well as their earnings.

You are vested in the plan when you have five
years of service credit.

Once you are vested, you have earned the
right to a future monthly benefit. If you leave
your job and withdraw your contributions,
however, you give up your right to a benefit.

You are eligible to retire with a full benefit if
you have at least five years of service credit
when you meet the age requirement.
For active members (see membership status
in the glossary), you can retire at:
» Any age with at least 30 years of service
credit
« Age 55 with at least 25 years of service
credit
« Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit

drs.wa.gov

For inactive members, you can retire at:

« Age 65 with at least five years of service
credit

» Age 60 with at least 20 years of service
credit at separation as long as you were
at least age 50 when you separated and
left service on or after Jan. 1, 2002

« Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit, but you'll be retiring with a
reduced benefit

If the unexpected happens — disability or
death before retirement — a benefit might be
available.

If you become totally incapacitated and leave
your job as a result, you might be eligible for a
disability retirement benefit.

If you die before you retire, your spouse,
registered domestic partner or minor child,
if applicable, could be eligible to receive a
benefit based on your years of service credit.

Log in to or sign up for online access to your
retirement account.

Track your contributions and service credit.
Read the latest newsletter. Update your
beneficiary information or email address.
Use your individual data to estimate your
monthly benefit. And when you're ready,
apply for retirement. You can get started at
drs.wa.gov/oaa.


www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa

How to contact the Department of Retirement Systems

The Washington State Department of Retirement Systems (DRS) administers the Public Employees’

Retirement System and the Deferred Compensation Program (DCP).

To contact DRS

Call

360.664.7000
800.547.6657

Write

Department of
Retirement Systems

'

Email

General inquiries:
drs.contact@drs.wa.gov

6835 Capitol Blvd. SE
Tumwater, WA 98501

See the DRS website for
directions.

Monday - Friday

8amto5pm
Pacific Time

TTY 711 PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA 98504 Send a secure message
through your online account:
drs.wa.gov/oaa
Visit A Hours @ Website @

drs.wa.gov

You can also send email
through the Contact Us
page on the DRS website.

To contact DCP

Call

888.327.5596
TTY 711
Fax 844.449.2551

Contact the DRS record keeper, Voya Financial for assistance
with your investment account. You can also log into your
investment account and chat live with an associate.

Visit drs.wa.gov/rk for more information.

Privacy of your information
We are committed to protecting the privacy of your personal account information,

Glossary
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including your Social Security number, which we use to track your account and submit
required reports to the IRS. We will not disclose your information to anyone unless we
are required to do so by law.

If you have insurance coverage through the Washington State Health Care Authority
(PEBB or SEBB for example), we could share your information with HCA to better serve
you.

Handbook summary

This handbook is not a complete description of your retirement benefit. State
retirement laws govern your benefit. If any conflicts exist between the information
shown in this handbook and what is contained in current law, the law governs.

3

highlighted
in bold print
appear in
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of terms on
page 15.
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How your plan works

Overview

PERS Plan 1 is a 401(a) defined benefit plan.
When you retire, you will receive a monthly
benefit for the rest of your life that is based on
your earned service credit and your Average
Final Compensation (AFC). Even though the
contributions you make help to fund the plan
overall, they do not factor into the monthly
benefit you receive.

Membership in PERS Plan 1
You are eligible for PERS Plan 1 membership if
the position you were hired into (before Oct. 1,
1977) is eligible. An eligible position is normally
compensated for at least 70 hours of work per
month for at least five months of each year and
the employer is one of the following:
« State government (for example, agency,
department, board or commission)
 Local government, including a city, town
or county
+ Public utility district
« Public institution of higher learning
+ School district
* Housing authority
 Diking, fire, health, irrigation, park, library,
port, reclamation, sewer or water district
+ Airport

Some employees might satisfy the basic
membership criteria but be ineligible for other
reasons. If one of the following applies to you,
please contact us to determine whether you're
eligible for PERS:

* You are a member of, or have retired
from, another public retirement system in
Washington state.

» You work for a college or university and
belong to that entity’s retirement plan.

* You signed a student waiver while
employed by a college or university.

* You are participating in a retirement
system that the city of Seattle, Spokane or
Tacoma administers.

* You provide professional services on a
fee, retainer or contract basis and the
income you receive from those services
is less than 50% of your gross income for
work performed in that profession.

drs.wa.gov

* You are enrolled in a state-approved
apprenticeship program, employed to
earn hours for completing the program,
and making contributions to a union-
sponsored or Taft-Hartley retirement
plan.

Membership in PERS might be optional for
some elected or appointed officials; employees
of the Legislature; city managers; and chief
administrative officers of city, county, port and
public utility districts. If you think you might
fall into this category, consider visiting the DRS
Elected or Governor-Appointed Official page.

Previous membership in another Washington
state public service retirement system
Membership in another of Washington's public
service retirement systems (including the
city retirement systems of Seattle, Tacoma or
Spokane) can affect your:

« Eligibility for membership

« Eligibility to retire

« Benefit calculation

If you have ever been a member in another
of Washington's public retirement plans, it is
important that you contact us to confirm your
eligibility and discuss your retirement options.

Contributing to the plan

You are required to contribute 6% of your
salary or wages to your retirement plan. This
includes overtime and tax-deferred wages, but
it might not include some forms of severance
pay or some cash payments for unused sick or
vacation leave. If you have questions about the
compensation your employer reports for you,
please contact your employer.

Your employer’s contributions are also based
on a percentage of your salary or wages.
They are not matching funds, and you cannot
withdraw them if you leave public service.

When you retire, the monthly benefit you
receive will have been funded over time
by your contributions, your employer’s
contributions and investment earnings.


www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/elected-official/

Earning service credit

Service credit is based on the number of
hours you work, which your employer reports
to DRS. When you retire, your service credit is a
part of your monthly benefit calculation.

You receive one service credit month for each
calendar month in which you are compensated
for 70 or more hours of work. No more than
one month of service credit can be earned
each calendar month, even if more than one
employer is reporting hours you work.

Beginning Sept. 1, 1991, you receive
one-quarter of a service credit if you are
compensated for fewer than 70 hours in a
calendar month.

If one or both of the following apply to you,
you need to know additional service credit
information:

« You're an employee who has previous
membership in another Washington state
public retirement system:

» If you have earned service credit
in another of the state’s public
retirement systems, you might be
able to combine your PERS service
credit with credit you earned in
the other system(s). For more
information, read the What Is Dual
Membership and How Does It
Affect Me? publication.

* You're an employee of a school
district, educational service district, the
Washington State School for the Blind,
the Center for Childhood Deafness and
Hearing Loss, or an institution of higher
learning:

» You can receive 12 service credits
for the school year as long as you
are employed in an eligible position,
earn compensation during at least
nine months of the school year
(that is, Sept. 1-Aug. 31) and have
at least 630 hours of compensated
employment.

Designating your beneficiary

The beneficiary information you give DRS
tells us the person(s) you want to receive your
remaining benefit, if any, after your death.
You can submit or update your beneficiary
information at any time before retirement in
your online retirement account. Sign up for or
log in to your account. Then select My Account
> View/Edit (beside Beneficiary). You have
the option of submitting a paper Beneficiary
Designation form instead, if you prefer.

If you don't submit this information, any
benefits due will be paid to your surviving
spouse or minor child. If you don't have a
surviving spouse or minor child, we will pay
your estate.

Be sure to review your beneficiary designation
periodically and update it in your online
retirement account if you need to make a
change. If you marry, divorce or have another
significant change in your life, be sure to
update your beneficiary designation because
these life events might invalidate your previous
choices.

State-registered domestic partners, according
to RCW 26.60.010, have the same survivor and
death benefits as married spouses. Contact the
Secretary of State’s Office if you have questions
about domestic partnerships.

When you will be vested

Once you have at least five years of service
credit in PERS, you have a vested right to a
retirement benefit.

If you leave PERS employment before you're
eligible to retire, you can choose to either leave
your contributions in the plan, where they will
continue to earn interest, or you can withdraw
your contributions.

If you decide to withdraw your contributions,
you give up your right to a future PERS
retirement benefit. See “Returning to public
service” on page 7 to find out more about
re-establishing your benefit rights in certain

circumstances.


https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
http://www.sos.wa.gov/

When you will be eligible to retire

You are eligible to retire with a full benefit if
you have at least five years of service credit
when you meet the age requirement.

For active members (see membership status
in the glossary), you can retire at:
« Any age with at least 30 years of service
credit
« Age 55 with at least 25 years of service
credit
« Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit
For inactive members, you can retire at:
» Age 65 with at least five years of service
credit
« Age 60 with at least 20 years of service
credit at separation as long as you were
at least age 50 when you separated and
left service on or after Jan. 1, 2002
» Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit, but you'll be retiring with a
reduced benefit to reflect that you
will be receiving it over a longer period of
time.

How your monthly benefit will be calculated
Your benefit is determined by your service
credit years and compensation. When you
retire, this formula will be used to calculate
your benefit:
2% x service credit years x AFC =
monthly benefit

Average Final Compensation (AFC) is the
average of your 24 consecutive highest paid
service credit months. Your benefit can be no
higher than 60% of your AFC.

Example
Using the formula

If you retire at age 61 with 30 years of

service credit and a monthly Average Final

Compensation of $5,000, your monthly

benefit is $3,000, calculated as follows:
2% x 30 x $5,000 = $3,000

drs.wa.gov

Planning for retirement

Even though retirement might seem far away,
planning for it now is one of the best things
you can do for yourself and your family. Your
monthly benefit will be an important part

of your income in retirement, but it is just a
portion of what you will need.

How do you begin developing your personal
plan for retirement? First, estimate how much
money you will need. That can vary based on
factors that include:
+ The lifestyle you'll want to lead when you
retire
* Your health
* Whether you'll carry any debt into
retirement
+ Your life expectancy

Next, estimate how much money you will
receive from all sources, such as Social Security,
personal savings and other employer pension
plans. When you compare this number with
what you think you will need, you can adjust
your savings plan accordingly.

Many tools can help you with your planning.
Here are some on the DRS website:

» Live webinars are available to attend
online. Topics include Plan 2, Plan 3,
plan choice, the Deferred Compensation
Program (DCP), distributions from Plan
3, investment basics and Social Security
basics.

+ Retirement seminars are available to
attend in person. You can also watch
seminars when it's convenient for you on
the DRS Retirement Seminars webpage.
Topics include Plan 1, Plan 2, Plan 3, DCP,
Social Security and health care options,
and the Voluntary Employees’ Beneficiary
Association (VEBA).

« The benefit estimator within your online
account can calculate your monthly
benefit based on a variety of scenarios
(for example, different retirement dates)
using your actual account data. If you
haven't already registered for this service,
it takes just a few minutes to do so.

» The Deferred Compensation Program


www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/education/webinar/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/retirement-planning/seminar/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp

(DCP) is a special type of savings program
that helps you invest for the retirement
lifestyle you want to achieve. Unlike
traditional savings accounts, DCP is
tax-deferred. That means it lowers your
taxable income while you are working

and it delays payments of income on

your investments until you withdraw your
funds. Contributions are automatically
deducted from your paycheck, so saving is
easy. You can start with as little as $30 per
month. You can also let your contributions
grow with percentage deductions.

Be sure to revisit your plan periodically and
adjust for any changes in your professional and
personal life.

Milestones/life changes

Becoming vested

When you have at least five years of service
credit in PERS Plan 1, you have a vested right
to a retirement benefit. This is a significant
milestone in your public service career.

Leaving public service

If you leave PERS employment, you can choose
to either leave your contributions in the plan
until you're eligible to retire or withdraw

them. The IRS requires that you begin taking
payment of your monthly benefit no later than
age 70¥2, unless you are still employed.

Leaving PERS-covered employment is the only
circumstance in which you can withdraw your
contributions. Doing so cancels any rights and
benefit you have accrued in PERS. You can
restore your contributions and re-establish
your benefit only in certain circumstances

(see “Returning to public service” in the next
section).

There are tax implications to withdrawing your
contributions, so you might want to contact the
IRS or a tax advisor before making a decision.
The Withdrawal of Retirement Contributions
publication offers more detailed information.

Be sure to keep us up to date on any changes
to your name, address or beneficiary. It's
important that you keep your beneficiary
designation current, because a divorce, marriage
or other circumstance might invalidate it.

Returning to public service

If you leave your position, withdraw your
contributions and later return to PERS work,
you might be able to restore your previous
service credit. To do so, you must repay the
total amount of the contributions you withdrew
plus interest within five years of returning to
work or before you retire, whichever comes
first. Contact us to find out that amount.

A dual member, or someone who belongs
to more than one retirement system, might
be able to restore service credit earned in a
retirement system other than PERS. Each time
you become a dual member, you'll have 24
months to restore service credit earned in a
previous retirement system.

It might still be possible to buy service credit
after the deadline has passed. However, the
cost in that case can often be much higher.
Find out more by reading Plan 1 Recovery of
Withdrawn or Optional Service Credit. You
might find helpful information in What Is Dual
Membership and How Does It Affect Me? as
well.

Marriage or divorce

Marrying, divorcing or separating can affect
your monthly benefit.

Court-ordered property division
A court-ordered property division could award
benefits. As long as the order complies with


https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/withdrawalretirementcontributionsform.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1recovery/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1recovery/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/

applicable laws, we will pay a monthly benefit
to your ex-spouse according to the division.

The DRS publication How Can a Property
Division Affect My Retirement Account?
contains detailed information.

Updating your beneficiary

The beneficiary information you give DRS
tells us the person(s) you want to receive your
remaining benefit, if any, after your death.
You can submit or update your beneficiary
information at any time before retirement in
your online retirement account. Sign up for or
log in to your account. Then select My Account
> View/Edit (beside Beneficiary). You have
the option of submitting a paper Beneficiary
Designation form instead, if you prefer.

If you marry or divorce before you retire, you
need to update your beneficiary information,
even if your beneficiary remains the same. It's
very important that you keep your beneficiary
designation up to date.

If the unexpected happens

Temporary leave from your job

You might need to take a temporary leave
from your job because of military service or a
temporary disability.

If so, you might be able to obtain service credit
for work time missed while you were on leave.

Service credit for military service

If you left your position for uniformed military
service, you might be eligible to receive service
credit for that period of military service.

Interruptive military service credit is available
to those who interrupt their PERS service to
serve in the U.S. military. You can receive credit
for interruptive military service if you meet the
following two criteria:

* You received an authorized leave of
absence from your employer to serve in
one of the armed or uniformed services of
the United States.

drs.wa.gov

* You return to work with a PERS-covered
employer within statutorily defined time
limits.

If you become totally incapacitated as a result
of serving in the United States military, you (or
your surviving spouse or children, in the case
of your death) can apply for military service
credit without your return to employment.

Noninterruptive military service credit is
available to people who served in the U.S.
military before becoming PERS members or
during breaks between PERS employment. To
receive credit for military service performed
before becoming a member, you must meet
the following two criteria:
* You have at least 25 years of PERS Plan 1
service.
« You are a veteran as defined in the
Revised Code of Washington (RCW).

Read our PERS Plan 1 Service Credit for
Interruptive Military Service and PERS

Plan 1 Non-Interruptive Military Service Credit
publications for more information.

Disability before retirement

In some cases, you can obtain service credit for
work time missed while you were on leave for a
temporary disability.

If you become totally incapacitated and leave
your job as a result, you might be eligible for a
disability retirement benefit.

For more information, visit PERS Plan 1
Disability Benefits or call us for information.

Death before retirement

If you have fewer than 10 years of service credit
at the time of your death, your accumulated
contributions plus interest will be paid to your
beneficiary.

If you have 10 or more years of service credit
at the time of your death, your spouse (or

the guardian of your minor children, if you
aren't married) can choose to receive either a
lump sum payment of your contributions plus
interest or a monthly benefit. If you don't have


www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/propertydivision/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/propertydivision/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/military/pers1milinterruptive/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/military/pers1milinterruptive/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/military/pers1milinterruptive.htm
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/military/pers1milnoninterruptive/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/pers/disabilitypersplan1/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/pers/disabilitypersplan1/

a surviving spouse or minor children, your
contributions plus interest will be paid to your
beneficiary or estate.

The monthly benefit will be calculated as if
you had retired and chosen a 100% survivor
benefit (see Option 2 on page 12 in the
“Ready to retire” section of this handbook).

If your surviving spouse dies while receiving
the benefit, your minor children will receive the
benefit that was being paid to your surviving
spouse. The benefit will be divided equally
among the children, and each will receive their
portion until they turn 18.

Death as a result of an injury or occupational
disease sustained during employment

If the Department of Labor & Industries
determines that your death was the result

of injuries sustained during the course of
employment or an occupational disease or
infection that arose from your employment,
your beneficiary will be entitled to a one-time,
duty-related death benefit.

Refund of contributions after
30 years of service credit

Do you have at least 30 service credit years?
If so, you can make a one-time, permanent
choice to participate in a program in which
post-30-year contributions are refunded at
retirement. To do so, you must sign up within
six months of earning 30 service credit years.

Program participants earn 7.5% interest

on their post-30-year contributions. If you
participate, your monthly benefit will be
based on your earnings before you joined the
program.

Before your 30th service credit year, DRS will
contact you with information to help you make
an informed decision. Find our more at PERS
Plan 1: Post-30-Year Program.

Approaching retirement

Retirement planning checkup

Consider taking time to check in on your
retirement planning. Have you analyzed how
much you will need and how much you will
have in retirement? Has anything in your plan
changed? Have you joined the state’s Deferred
Compensation Program (DCP) or another
supplemental savings program?

Things to consider:

+ Identify your retirement lifestyle goals.
Will you want to travel the world or stay
close to home? Different lifestyle choices
can mean different financial goals.

« Take care of your health. The cost of
medical care can be one of the largest
expenses you incur in retirement. Getting
regular checkups now and maintaining
a healthy lifestyle can have an impact on
what those costs will be when you retire.

« Pay down debt. Debt lessens the money
you have available to save. Paying off
debt while you're still generating a
paycheck will affect how much you have
to save and give you greater flexibility in
retirement.

« Sign up for DCP or another similar
savings vehicle. If you choose to get
started with DCP, you can defer as little
as $30 a month from your paychecks, and
you can change that amount whenever
you want.

« Sign up for DCP or another similar
savings vehicle. (It's never too late to
get started.) If you're already saving with
DCP or another plan, consider increasing
your contribution amount. Making even a
small increase can make a big difference
over the long run. Use the calculator
on the DCP website to see the impact
different contribution amounts could
have. Here's an important tip: If you're
age 50 or older, the IRS allows a higher
contribution limit, which enables you to
save even more in your DCP account if

you choose.


http://www.lni.wa.gov/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/pers/disabilitypersplan1/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/pers/disabilitypersplan1/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp
https://www.drs.wa.gov/calculators/

These questions are key as you approach
retirement.
» How much income will you need in
retirement?
«  What will your monthly benefit be?
« How will your benefit change if you work
past age 60 or you decide to retire early?
« Will you want to increase your benefit by
purchasing additional service credit?
« What other income will you have
available to you in retirement?

This section can help you find the answers.

If you haven't already signed up for an
online account, consider doing so. With this
account, you can calculate your benefit using

different scenarios and your individual account

information.

Service retirement

You are eligible to retire with a full benefit if
you have at least five years of service credit
when you meet the age requirement.

For active members (see membership status
in the glossary), you can retire at:
« Any age with at least 30 years of service
credit
« Age 55 with at least 25 years of service
credit
« Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit
For inactive members, you can retire at:
« Age 65 with at least five years of service
credit
» Age 60 with at least 20 years of service
credit at separation as long as you were
at least age 50 when you separated and
left service on or after Jan. 1, 2002
« Age 60 with at least five years of service
credit, but you'll be retiring with a
reduced benefit

This formula will be used to calculate your
monthly benefit:
2% x service credit years x AFC =
monthly benefit

drs.wa.gov
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AFC is the average of your 24 consecutive
highest paid service credit months. Your
benefit can be no higher than 60% of your
AFC.

Example
Service retirement

If you retire at age 60 with 20 years of
service credit and a monthly Average Final
Compensation of $3,700, your monthly
benefit is $1,480 each month, calculated
as follows:

2% x 20 x $3,700 = $1,480

If your monthly benefit is less than $50,
you can choose to take a lump sum
retirement benefit. (It's likely that only a
member who retires early on disability or
as a dual member would receive this type
of payment.) If you receive a lump sum
payment, you are considered retired from
PERS.

Using leave to increase your benefit

If you cash out leave (such as annual or sick
leave), you might be eligible to use all or part
of the cashout value in your AFC calculation
if it was earned during your highest-paid
service credit months.

School district employees

School district employees may use up to 45
days of accumulated sick leave to retire early.
For example, if you have 45 days of sick leave
and are age 60 or older, you may retire with
at least four years and ten months of service
credit. Cashed out sick leave may not be used
for this purpose.

Sick leave cannot be used to meet the

age requirement or as service credit in
determining the amount of your retirement
benefit. If you plan to use sick leave to
advance your retirement date, contact DRS
before separating from employment.


www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/

Retiring as a dual member

If you are a member of more than one
Washington state retirement system, you are a
dual member. You can combine service credit
earned in all dual member systems to become
eligible for retirement.

In most cases, your monthly benefit will be
based on the highest base salary you earned,
regardless of which system you earned it in.
Base salary includes your wages and overtime
and can include other cash payments if those
payments are included as base salary in all the
retirement systems you are retiring from.

Maximum benefit
If you retire as a dual member, your total
benefit cannot exceed the amount you would
have received if all your service had been in a
single system. The maximum benefit limitation
applies only if you have:
« 15 or more service credit years in a plan
with a benefit cap
» More than 30 years total combined
service

Example
Dual member

If you retire at age 65 with three years of
service credit from PERS Plan 1 and four
from the Teachers’ Retirement System
(TRS) Plan 1, you are a dual member.
Without dual membership, your service
would not be eligible for a monthly benefit
from either system. With dual membership,
your service credit is combined, giving you
enough to retire. Your benefit from each
is calculated with service from that system.
This is how your benefit is calculated:

2% x 3 (PERS service credit years) x

Average Final Compensation (AFC) =

PERS benefit

2% x 4 (TRS service credit years)
x AFC = TRS benefit

PERS benefit + TRS benefit = total
monthly benefit
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For more information, read What Is Dual
Membership and How Does It Affect Me?

Estimating your benefit

If you are within five years of retirement, we
encourage you to review your online account
and use the online benefit estimator to
determine how much your benefit might be.
You can use this estimator at any point in your
career.

If you expect to retire within the next year,
contact us through your online account or call
to request a written estimate of your benefit.

Annuity options

An annuity is a guaranteed income plan you
purchase. When retiring, PERS Plan 1 members
have two available annuities.

PERS Plan annuity: With this annuity, the
retirement benefit increase you receive is
based on the dollar amount you choose to
purchase. While there is no maximum amount,
a minimum purchase of $5,000 is required. The
funds to purchase this annuity must come from
an eligible governmental plan, such as your
DCP savings. Estimate the monthly retirement
income increase through the “Purchase an
Annuity” calculator in your online account.

Service credit annuity: This annuity allows
you to add up to 60 months to your service in
the final pension calculation. Purchased service
credit does not actually increase the number
of years you've worked and won't help you
qualify for retirement, but it can make a big
impact when it comes to your pension benefit!
Estimate the monthly retirement income
increase as well as the annuity cost through the
“Purchasing Service” calculator in your online
account.

For more information about these annuities,

see DRS annuities.


https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/annuity/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/annuity/

Ready to retire
Applying for retirement online

To apply online, go to your online account and
either sign up for or log in to your account.

The online retirement application will display
only what you need based on your retirement
system, plan and retirement eligibility rules.
Follow the step-by-step instructions and
electronically submit the application to us
when you're ready.

Applying for retirement on paper

Request a retirement application from us.
Submit the completed application with all
required signatures and documentation,
including proof of age for your survivor if you
choose a Survivor Option (see Options 2, 3 and
4 below).

If you're purchasing service credit, complete
and turn in your Request to Purchase
Retirement Service Credit form with your
application.

Your benefit options

When you apply for retirement, you will choose
one of the four benefit options shown below.
Once you retire, you can change your option in
only limited, specific circumstances, so select
carefully.

Option 1

Single Life

This option pays the highest monthly amount
of the four choices, but it is for your lifetime
only. No one will receive an ongoing benefit
after you die. If you die before the benefit you
have received equals your contributions plus
interest (as of the date of your retirement), the
difference will be paid in a lump sum to your
designated beneficiary.

drs.wa.gov
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Option 2

Joint and 100% survivor

Your monthly benefit under this option is less
than the Single Life Option. But after your
death, your survivor will receive the same
benefit you were receiving for their lifetime.

Option 3

Joint and 50% survivor

This option applies a smaller reduction to your
monthly benefit than Option 2. After your
death, your survivor will receive half the benefit
you were receiving for their lifetime.

Option 4

Joint and 66.67% survivor

This option applies a smaller reduction to your
benefit than Option 2 and a larger reduction
than Option 3. After your death, your survivor
will receive 66.67% (or roughly two-thirds) of
the benefit you were receiving for their lifetime.

You must get consent in certain circumstances
If you are married, legally separated or a
registered domestic partner and do not leave

a survivor option for your spouse/partner,

the law requires their consent to your choice.

If their notarized consent is not provided on
your retirement application, your benefit will
be calculated at Option 3 and they will be the
designated survivor.

Health insurance coverage

Ask your employer if you will be eligible

for health insurance coverage through the
Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) once
you retire. You can also call the Health Care
Authority at 800-200-1004 or visit
www.hca.wa.gov.

If you qualify for continuing coverage, you
must meet strict timelines to apply for or
request a deferral. If you are not entitled to
PEBB coverage, you might be eligible for health
insurance your employer provides. For more
information, consult your employer.


www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
http://www.hca.wa.gov/public-employee-benefits
http://www.hca.wa.gov
http://www.hca.wa.gov
http://www.hca.wa.gov

Federal benefit limit

When you retire, your benefit could be limited
if it exceeds the federally allowed amount. It
can be adjusted annually for inflation (see the
current IRS limits). Members hired before Jan.
1, 1990, have different limits. When we process
your benefit estimate, we will notify you if your
benefit exceeds the limit.

Few retirement system members should be
impacted by this limit. If you think it could
impact you, please call us for additional
information.

Federal tax on your monthly benefit

Most, if not all, of your benefit will be subject
to federal income tax. The only exception will
be any portion that was taxed before it was
contributed. When you retire, we will let you
know if any portion of your contributions has
already been taxed.

Since most public employers deduct
contributions before taxes, it's likely your entire
retirement benefit will be taxable.

At retirement, you must complete and submit
a federal W-4P form to let us know how much
of your benefit should be withheld for taxes.
If you don't, IRS rules require withholding

as if you are married and claiming three
exemptions. You can adjust your withholding
amount at any time during retirement by
completing a new W-4P form.

For each tax year you receive a retirement
benefit, we will provide you with a 1099-R form
to use in preparing your tax return (see the
1099-R information). These forms are usually
mailed at the end of January for the previous
year. The information is also available through
your online account.

It is your responsibility to declare the proper
amount of taxable income on your income tax
return.
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Legal actions

In general, your monthly benefit is not subject
to assignment or attachment. However, it
could be subject to court and administrative
orders issued under federal law or for spousal
maintenance and child support.

You can find more information in the
publication Can Legal Action Affect My
Retirement Account?

When and how your benefit will
be paid

After you retire, your retirement benefit will
be paid at the end of each month and directly
deposited in your financial institution account.
You must enter your banking information in
your online retirement account or complete
the Direct Deposit Authorization form as part
of your retirement application.

If you need to change your financial institution
once you've started your retirement, just
update your information in your online account
or send us a new authorization form. In rare
cases, if you are unable to receive payment by
direct deposit, payment will be mailed at the
end of each month.

Once you retire

Optional Cost-of-Living Adjustment
(COLA)

When you apply for retirement, you can
choose to receive the Optional COLA in
exchange for a lowered monthly benefit. (See
your benefit estimate.) If you choose the COLA,
on July 1 of every year following your first full
year of retirement, your monthly benefit will
be adjusted to a maximum of 3% per year, as
determined by the Consumer Price Index.


https://www.drs.wa.gov/irs/limits/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/w4p.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/w4p.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/irs/1099-r/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/authorizationDirectDepositForm.pdf
http://www.bls.gov/cpi/

Make your Optional COLA choice on your
retirement application. Once you submit your
application, your choice is permanent. To see
your benefit with and without the Optional
COLA, try the Optional COLA calculator.

Other adjustments

Several other COLAs apply to small groups of
members. For more information, see the Plan 1
Optional COLA Frequently Asked Questions.

Working after retirement

If you return to public service in Washington
state after you retire, your benefit could be
affected, depending on the position and
number of hours you work.

In certain circumstances, you might be required
to become a member of, and pay contributions
to, another retirement system. You might be
able to work limited hours with no impact to
your benefit.

If you think you might be returning to work
after retirement, call us to see if your benefit
will be affected. Consider reviewing the
Thinking About Working After Retirement?
publication.

Benefit overpayments or
underpayments

If you ever receive an overpayment of your
monthly benefit, you are required to repay it. If
we discover your benefit has been underpaid,
we will correct the error and award you a
retroactive payment, if applicable.
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Changing a benefit option or
survivor after you retire

Once you retire, you may change your
benefit option or survivor in the following
circumstances only:

« If you designate someone other than
your spouse to receive your survivor
benefit, you can change to an Option
1 (no survivor) benefit at any time after
retirement.

« If you choose a Survivor Option (Option
2, 3 or 4) and your designated survivor
dies before you do, your monthly benefit
can be adjusted to the higher Option 1
payment level. Be sure to notify us to
begin this change.

« If you marry or remarry after retirement
and remain married for at least one
year, you might be able to change your
benefit option and provide a survivor
benefit for your new spouse. To qualify
for this opportunity, you must request
the change during your second year of
marriage. Contact us for estimates on
how this will affect your monthly benefit.
Also, be aware that this opportunity
might not be available if a court-ordered
property division has impacted your
benefit.

+ If you re-enter PERS membership and
earn 24 months of uninterrupted service
credit, you can select a different Survivor
Option when you retire again.


www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/member/faq/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/member/faq/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/pers/pers1returntowork/

Glossary of terms

Average Final Compensation (AFC): The
monthly average of your 24 consecutive
highest paid service credit months. Your
Average Final Compensation is used in
determining your monthly benefit.

Beneficiary: The person(s), estate, organization
or trust you have designated to receive

any benefit payable upon your death.

Your beneficiary must have a federal tax
identification number or a Social Security
number.

Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA): If you
choose the Plan 1 Optional COLA, on July

1 of every year following your first full year

of retirement, your monthly benefit will be
adjusted to reflect the percentage change in
the Consumer Price Index — to a maximum of
3% per year.

Defined benefit: A retirement plan in which
your benefit is based on a formula rather than
an account balance. The formula provides a
monthly benefit based on your years of service
and your Average Final Compensation.

Domestic partner: In a registered domestic
partnership, both individuals have met the
state’s legal requirements and registered their
partnership with the Secretary of State’s Office
or another jurisdiction. Contact the Secretary of
State’s Office if you have questions about the
requirements. Registered domestic partners
have the same survivor and death benefits as
married spouses. However, differences could
occur in how taxes are handled at the federal
level.

Dual member: You are a dual member if you
have established membership in more than
one Washington state retirement system,
including first-class city retirement systems for
Seattle, Spokane and Tacoma, but excluding
Plan 1 of the Law Enforcement Officers’ and
Fire Fighters' Retirement System.
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Membership status: The status of your
retirement membership. This can be:

« Active, which means you are currently
employed in a position covered by one of
the state retirement systems

« Inactive, which means you no longer are
actively contributing to the state
retirement system and have not
withdrawn your contributions after
leaving employment (which might leave
you eligible to receive a benefit once you
reach retirement age)

«  Withdrawn, which means you were
employed in a position covered by one
of the state retirement systems and you
withdrew your contributions after leaving
employment

Reduced benefit: A benefit that has been
decreased by a factor provided by the Office of
the State Actuary. A benefit is reduced in two
situations: when you retire early or you retire
and select a Survivor Option (which pays a
benefit to your survivor after your death).

Service credit: The credit you receive each
month for working in a position covered by
one of the state retirement systems. Service
credit is used to determine your eligibility for
retirement and your benefit amount.

Survivor: The individual you choose — when
picking Option 2, 3 or 4 at retirement — to
receive benefit payments after your death.

System/plan: The retirement system and plan
in which you are a member.

Vested: You have earned the right to receive a

retirement benefit once you reach an eligible
age.



Index

A

Applying for retirement, 12

Approaching retirement, 9

Authorized leave of absence, 8

Average Final Compensation, 2,
4,6,10, 11,15

B

Becoming vested, 7
Beneficiary, 5, 7, 8, 12
Benefit calculation, 2, 4, 10
Benefit options, 12, 14

C

Changing a benefit option or
survivor after you retire, 14

Compensation, 4, 6, 10

Contributions, 2, 4, 5, 12, 14

Cost-of-Living Adjustment
(COLA), 13,15

D

Death, 2, 8, 12, 15

Deferred Compensation
Program (DCP), 3, 6, 9

Defined benefit, 2, 4, 15

Designating your beneficiary,
5 8

Disability, 2, 8, 10

Divorce, 7

Domestic partner, 2, 5, 15

Dual member, 7, 10, 15

E

Earning service credit, 5
Eligible to retire, 2, 5, 7
Estimating your benefit, 11

F
Federal benefit limit, 13
Federal tax, 13
Formula, 2, 6, 10, 15

drs.wa.gov

G

Glossary of terms, 15

H

Health insurance
coverage, 3, 13

How to contact DRS, 3

How your plan works, 4

I
If the unexpected happens, 8

L

Leaving public service, 7
Legal actions, 13
Life changes, 7

M

Marriage, 7, 14
Milestones, 7
Military service, 8

O

Once you retire, 12, 13
Online account, 10
Overpayments, 14

P

Plan summary, 2
Planning for retirement, 6, 12
Privacy of your
information, 3
Property division, 7, 14

Public Employees Benefits Board

(PEBB), 3, 12
Purchasing additional service
credit, 11

R

Ready to retire, 12

Reduced benefit, 12, 15

Retirement planning
checkup, 9

Retiring as a dual member,11

Returning to public service, 7

16

S

Seminar, 12

Service credit, 2, 5,7, 8, 11, 15
Service retirement, 10
Survivor, 5,9, 12, 14, 15

T
Temporary disability, 8

U
Underpayments, 14

Updating your plan for
retirement, 12

Vv

Vested, 2, 5, 7, 15

W

When and how your benefit will
be paid, 13

Withdraw, 2, 4, 5, 7
Working after retirement, 14

PERSTHB 9/20


www.drs.wa.gov

