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his publication describes what could happen to your Public Safety

Employees’ Retirement System (PSERS) Plan 2 monthly benefit if
you return to work for an employer covered by one of the Washington
state retirement systems. You can return to work for an employer not
covered by a Washington state retirement system without impacting
your monthly benefit unless you are a disability retiree.

When do I become a retiree?

You must fully retire before you can be covered under
return-to-work laws. To do so, you must:
* Meet the age and service requirements for retirement
 File an application for retirement with the Department
of Retirement Systems (DRS)
« Terminate all employment with any DRS-covered
employer(s)
« Sever all contractual agreements (written or verbal)
for future employment with your DRS-covered
employer(s)

Taking these actions will establish your effective retirement
date as the first day of the month following the month in
which you left employment.

Example 1

Maria applies for retirement and terminates her
employment Aug. 15, 2017. She meets the age and
service requirements. Her effective retirement date is
Sept. 1, 2017.

Example 2

Quinn applied for retirement and terminated his
employment July 15, 2016. He had enough service credit
to meet the requirements for retirement. However, he did
not meet the age requirement until March 22, 2017. His
effective retirement date, therefore, was April 1, 2017.
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Questions answered
inside this publication

How soon can I return
to work?

What if I return to work
before my effective
retirement date?

What should I do when
I return to work?

How many hours can I
work a year and still
receive my benefit?

What happens if I work
more than the annual
limit?

Which hours count
toward the annual limit?

Can I return to active
membership?

What if I am receiving
a disability retirement?

What if I retired as
a dual member?

Is there a limit to how
much income I can
earn?



Washington State Department of Retirement Systems

How soon can I return to work?

You must wait at least 30 consecutive days
after your effective retirement date before
returning to work. If you return to work for a
DRS-covered employer before 30 days have
passed, your benefit will be reduced by 5.5% for
every eight hours you work in a month — up
to a maximum of 160 hours. If the reduction

is more than your monthly benefit, the excess
will be taken from the next month's benefit
payment. The reduction will continue until you
stop working for a full 30 days.

What if I return to work before
my effective retirement date?

If you terminate employment and file a
retirement application but return to work
before your effective retirement date, your
application for retirement will be canceled.
Because you will not be considered retired,
you will return to active membership and be
required to pay member contributions.

What should I do whenI
return to work?

When you return to work for a DRS-covered
employer, it is important to let your employer
know you are a retiree. If your employer

does not know you are retired, you could be
reported as an active member, which might
stop your benefit. Contact your employer to
determine the eligibility of your position.

What if I retired as a
dual member?

A dual member retiree is someone who has
combined service credit earned in more than
one retirement system to qualify for retirement.
If you retired as a dual member, contact DRS to
find out the impacts returning to work will have
on your monthly benefit.

How many hours can I work a
year and still receive my benefit?

The number of hours you can work and still
receive a benefit depends on the position you
accept.

If you wait at least 30 consecutive days after
your effective retirement date and return

to work in a PSERS-eligible position, DRS

will stop your monthly benefit and your
membership will be effective as of the date you
return to work.

If you wait at least 30 consecutive days after
your effective retirement date and return

to work in an eligible Public Employees’
Retirement System (PERS), School
Employees’ Retirement System (SERS) or
Teachers’ Retirement System (TRS) position,
you can work up to the annual limit of 867
hours in a calendar year before your monthly
benefit is suspended.

If you return to work for an institution of
higher education, you cannot join a higher
education retirement plan (HERP) that
institution offers.

If you were hired into a HERP-eligible position
before July 1, 2011, you may continue in that
position and work up to the annual limit of 867
hours in a calendar year before your monthly
benefit is suspended.

If you return to work in an eligible Law
Enforcement Officers’ and Fire Fighters’
Retirement System or Washington State
Patrol Retirement System position, contact
DRS.

If you return to work in a position that is
ineligible for DRS membership, no limit is
placed on your employment. You can work
in this position as long as it is classified as
ineligible and still receive your full monthly
benefit. However, employment in a position
that is ineligible for DRS membership might
affect a disability retirement benefit.
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If you have questions or concerns about how returning to work might affect
you and your monthly benefit, contact DRS (see page 4).

What happens if I work more
than the annual limit?

You can work as many hours as you want in a
calendar year. However, if you are employed
in a PERS-, SERS- or TRS-eligible position and
work more than the allowed 867 hours, your
monthly benefit will be suspended for the
remainder of the calendar year or until you
terminate your employment. In the month you
exceed the limit, your benefit will be prorated.

Example

Min retires effective Jan. 1, 2017, and returns
to work in a PERS-eligible position Feb. 1,
2017. She works for the remainder of the
year. On July 11, 2017, she exceeds 867 hours
of employment for the calendar year. Her
benefit is suspended beginning July 12, 2017.
She receives a partial monthly benefit for
July 1 through July 11. Min's benefit restarts
Jan. 1, 2018.

Can I return to active
membership?

If you are hired into a PSERS-eligible position,
you can return to active membership. However,
when you do, your monthly benefit will

be stopped. When you again retire, a new
monthly benefit will be calculated to reflect the
additional service credit you've earned. If you
return to work and complete two or more years
of uninterrupted service, you may select a new
benefit option.

If you are hired into a position that is eligible
for other DRS membership, your retirement
allowance could be impacted, depending on
your new position’s system and plan.

Which hours count toward
the annual limit?

All hours for which you receive compensation
count toward the annual limit. This includes
paid holidays or compensatory time, sick leave,
and annual leave taken in lieu of normal work
hours.

Sick leave or annual leave that is cashed out at
the end of an employment period doesn’t count
toward the limit. Cashed out compensatory
time does count toward the limit.

What if I am receiving a disability
retirement?

If you are a disability retiree, returning to any
kind of employment could affect your monthly
benefit. Your return to work could mean you
are no longer disabled and, therefore, no
longer eligible to receive a disability retirement.
If you retired because of a disability and are
considering returning to work, contact DRS.

Is there a limit to how much
income I can earn?

Washington state law does not limit the amount
of income you can earn.

However, if you are receiving a Social Security
benefit, returning to work could impact your
Social Security income.

To check income limitations under federal Social
Security law, refer to the publication What You
Need to Know When You Get Retirement or
Survivors Benefits or visit the Social Security
website at www.ssa.gov.


http://www.socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-10077.pdf
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-10077.pdf
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-10077.pdf
http://www.ssa.gov
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General information

Overpayments and underpayments: If you
receive an overpayment of your monthly benefit,
you will be required to repay it to DRS. If you
receive an underpayment, DRS will correct the
error and pay you the amount owed.

Health care: If you have retired from state
government, a public education institution or a
local government employer participating in the
Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB), you
have the option to return to PEBB-sponsored
coverage when you return to full retirement

status.

If you have questions about your health care
coverage, contact the Health Care Authority at
800.200.1004 or visit www.hca.wa.gov. If you
have retired from employment with a local
government, you will need to coordinate with
your employer and health care provider to
determine your health care options.

To contact DRS

DCP: If you are receiving Deferred Compensation
Program (DCP) payments and return to work

for an employer offering DCP, your payments

will cease. You can restart them after you end
employment.

If you aren't yet receiving DCP payments and
you return to work, you can keep contributing to
your account. If you have questions, contact DCP
at 888-327-5596 or dcpinfo@drs.wa.gov.

Privacy of your information: We are
committed to protecting the privacy of your
account information, including your Social
Security number, which we use to track your
account and submit required reports to the IRS.
We will not disclose your information to anyone
unless we are required to do so by law. If you
have insurance coverage through PEBB, we might
share your information with PEBB to better serve
you.

Call

360.664.7000
800.547.6657

Write

Department of

Retirement Systems

Email

General inquiries:
drs.contact@drs.wa.gov

4

6835 Capitol Blvd. SE
Tumwater, WA 98501

See the DRS website for
directions.

TTY 711 PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA 98504 Send a secure message
through your online account:
drs.wa.gov/oaa
Visit 4 | Hours @ Website @

Monday - Friday
8amto5pm
Pacific Time

drs.wa.gov

You can also send email
through the Contact Us
page on the DRS website.

This document is a summary. It is not a complete description of working after retirement. State retirement laws govern your benefit. If a conflict
exists between the information in this document and what is contained in current law, the law governs.
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