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TRS Plan 1 summary

TRS Plan 1 is a defined benefit plan.
When you meet plan requirements and 
retire, you are guaranteed a monthly 
benefit for the rest of your life.

Your monthly benefit will be based on your 
earned service credit and compensation 
while a member of TRS Plan 1. 
In most cases, this formula will be used to 
calculate your monthly benefit:

2% x service credit years x Average 
Final Compensation = monthly benefit

Your benefit calculation will use up to 30 
years of service credit. And in most cases, 
Average Final Compensation (AFC) is the 
average of your two consecutive highest 
paid fiscal years. In most cases, your benefit 
can be no higher than 60% of your AFC. 

You and your employer each contribute a 
percentage of your salary or wages to help 
fund the plan. 
You contribute 6% of your salary or wages 
to your retirement plan. This rate is set 
by law. The Washington State Investment 
Board (WSIB) holds in trust and invests 
those funds as well as their earnings. 

You are vested in the plan when you have 
five years of service credit. 
Once you are vested, you have earned 
the right to a future monthly benefit. If 
you leave your job and withdraw your 
contributions, however, you give up your 
right to a benefit.

You are eligible to retire with a full benefit 
at:

	• Any age with at least 30 years of 
service credit

	• Age 55 with at least 25 years of service 
credit

	• Age 60 with at least five years of 
service credit

As a TRS Plan 1 member, you earn one 
full year of service credit when you are 
compensated for at least four-fifths (144 
full time days) of the 180-day school year.
If you work at least 20 days but less than 
four-fifths of a fiscal year, you will earn a 
fraction of a year’s service credit.

If the unexpected happens — disability or 
death before retirement — a benefit might 
be available. 
If you become totally incapacitated and 
leave your job as a result, you might be 
eligible for a disability retirement benefit.

If you die before you retire, your spouse, 
registered domestic partner or minor child, 
if applicable, could be eligible to receive 
a benefit based on your years of service 
credit.

Log in to or sign up for online access to 
your retirement account. 
Track your contributions and service credit. 
Read the latest newsletter. Update your 
beneficiary information or email address. 
Use your individual data to estimate your 
monthly benefit. And when you’re ready, 
apply for retirement. You can get started at 
drs.wa.gov/oaadrs.wa.gov/oaa.

Teachers’ Retirement System
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How to contact the Department of Retirement Systems
The Washington State Department of Retirement Systems (DRS) administers the Teachers’ Retirement 
System (TRS) and the Deferred Compensation Program (DCP).

Privacy of your information
We are committed to protecting the privacy of your personal account information, 
including your Social Security number, which we use to track your account and 
submit required reports to the IRS. We will not disclose your information to anyone 
unless we are required to do so by law. If you have insurance coverage through the 
Washington State Health Care AuthorityWashington State Health Care Authority (PEBB or SEBB for example), we could share 
your information with HCA to better serve you.

Handbook summary
This handbook is not a complete description of your retirement benefit. State 
retirement laws govern your benefit. If any conflicts exist between the information 
shown in this handbook and what is contained in current law, the law governs.

Glossary
Terms 
highlighted 
in bold 
print appear 
in the 
glossary of 
terms on 
page 15. 

To contact DRS

To contact DCP

Write Email

Website

Call

 
 

HoursVisit
http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov 
http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov 
http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov

http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map

http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact

mailto:drs.contact@drs.wa.gov
mailto:drs.contact@drs.wa.gov
mailto:drs.contact@drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa

360.664.7000
800.547.6657
TTY  711

Department of 
Retirement Systems
PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA  98504

General inquiries:
drs.contact@drs.wa.gov

Send a secure message 
through your online account: 
drs.wa.gov/oaa

drs.wa.gov

You can also send email 
through the Contact Us 
page on the DRS website.

Monday - Friday
8 am to 5 pm
Pacific Time

6835 Capitol Blvd. SE
Tumwater, WA  98501

See the DRS website for 
directions.

Call

 
 

888.327.5596
TTY  711
Fax  844.449.2551

Contact the DRS record keeper, Voya Financial for assistance 
with your investment account. You can also log into your 
investment account and chat live with an associate. 

Visit drs.wa.gov/rk for more information. 
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How your plan works
Overview
TRS Plan 1 is a 401(a) defined benefit plan. 
When you retire, you will receive a monthly 
benefit for the rest of your life that is based on 
your earned service credit and your Average 
Final Compensation (AFC). Even though the 
contributions your employer makes help to 
fund the plan overall, they don’t factor into the 
monthly defined benefit you will receive. 

Membership in TRS Plan 1
You are eligible for TRS Plan 1 membership 
if the teaching position you were hired into 
before Oct. 1, 1977, is eligible. The equivalent 
of 90 full-time workdays during a fiscal year 
(July 1-June 30) was required to establish your 
membership. If you end your employment, 
withdraw your contributions and then later 
return to an eligible teaching position, you will 
rejoin TRS Plan 1.

An eligible teaching position is full-time and 
employs you for 20 or more days within a 
school year. 

A teacher is anyone who is certified to teach 
and is employed by a public school as an 
instructor, administrator or supervisor. This 
includes:

	• State, educational service district and 
school district superintendents and their 
assistants

	• School district and educational service 
district employees who the Washington 
Superintendent of Public Instruction 
certificated

	• Any full-time school doctor a public 
school employs to provide instructional 
or educational services

If you are a substitute teacher, your 
membership in TRS is optional. To learn more, 
read TRS Plan 1 Substitutes’ GuideTRS Plan 1 Substitutes’ Guide.

Previous membership in another Washington 
state public service retirement system
Membership in another of Washington’s public 
service retirement systems (including the 
city retirement systems of Seattle, Tacoma or 
Spokane) can affect your:

	• Eligibility for TRS Plan 1 membership
	• Eligibility to retire
	• Benefit calculation

If you have ever been a member in another 
of Washington’s public service plans, it is 
important that you contact us to confirm  
your eligibility and discuss your retirement 
options.

Contributing to the plan
You are required to contribute 6% of your 
salary or wages to your retirement plan. This 
includes overtime and tax-deferred wages, but 
it might not include some forms of severance 
pay or some cash payments for unused sick or 
vacation leave. If you have questions about the 
compensation your employer reports for you, 
please contact your employer.

Your employer’s contributions are also based 
on a percentage of your salary or wages. 
They are not matching funds, and you cannot 
withdraw them if you leave public service.

When you retire, the monthly benefit you 
receive will have been funded over time 
by your contributions, your employer’s 
contributions and investment earnings. At that 
time, you will have the option to withdraw all 
or a portion of your contributions plus interest 
and receive a reduced monthly benefit.

Earning service credit
Service credit is based on the number of years 
you work, which your employer reports to DRS. 
When you retire, your service credit is a part of 
your monthly benefit calculation.

No more than one month of service credit can 
be earned each calendar month, even if more 
than one employer is reporting hours you 
work.

www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/trs1substituteservicecreditform.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/trs1substituteservicecreditform.pdf


5

You earn 12 months of service credit when 
you are compensated for at least 144 full-
time workdays within the 180-day school year. 
You earn partial service credit when you work 
between 20 and 144 days within the fiscal year.

Example 
Earning service credit

You teach full time for 24 years. Then in 
the 2016-17 fiscal year, you teach for only 
60 days. Teaching for 60 days equates 
to 33% of a full 180-day fiscal year. So 
the amount of service credit you have 
accrued so far is 24.33 service credit years, 
calculated as follows:

24 + 0.33 = 24.33 

Claiming credit for substitute teaching
If you work as a substitute teacher, your 
employer reports your hours and earnings to 
DRS. However, contributions aren’t deducted 
from your paycheck. If you meet eligibility 
requirements and would like to receive credit 
for your service, you must enroll with DRS 
after June 30 of each school year and pay the 
appropriate contributions.

To learn more, read TRS Plan 1 Substitutes’ TRS Plan 1 Substitutes’ 
GuideGuide.

Designating your beneficiary
The beneficiary information you give DRS 
tells us the person(s) you want to receive your 
remaining benefit, if any, after your death. 
You can submit or update your beneficiary 
information at any time before retirement in 
your online retirement accountonline retirement account. Sign up for or 
log in to your account. Then select My Account 
> View/Edit (beside Beneficiary). You have 
the option of submitting a paper Beneficiary Beneficiary 
DesignationDesignation form instead, if you prefer.  

If you don’t submit this information, any 
benefits due will be paid to your surviving 
spouse or minor child. If you don’t have a 
surviving spouse or minor child, we will pay 
your estate.

Be sure to review your beneficiary designation 
periodically and update it in your online 
retirement account if you need to make a 
change. If you marry, divorce or have another 
significant change in your life, be sure to 
update your beneficiary designation because 
these life events might invalidate your previous 
choices.

State-registered domestic partners, according 
to RCW 26.60.010, have the same survivor and 
death benefits as married spouses. Contact the 
Secretary of State’s OfficeSecretary of State’s Office if you have questions 
about domestic partnerships.

When you will be vested
Once you have at least five years of service 
credit in TRS, you have a vested right to a 
retirement benefit.

If you leave TRS employment before you’re 
eligible to retire, you can choose to either leave 
your contributions in the plan, where they will 
continue to earn interest, or you can withdraw 
your contributions. 

If you decide to withdraw your contributions, 
you give up your right to a future TRS 
retirement benefit. See “Returning to public 
service” on page 7 to learn more about 
re-establishing your benefit rights in certain 
circumstances.

When you will be eligible to retire
You are eligible to retire with a full benefit at:

	• Any age with at least 30 years of service 
credit

	• Age 55 with at least 25 years of service 
credit

	• Age 60 with at least five years of service 
credit

How your monthly benefit will be calculated
Your benefit is determined by your service 
credit years and compensation. When you 
retire, this formula will be used to calculate 
your benefit:

2% x service credit years x AFC =  
monthly benefit

T
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http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
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Average Final Compensation (AFC) is the 
average of your two consecutive highest paid 
fiscal years. Your benefit can be no higher than 
60% of your AFC.

Example 
Using the formula

If you retire at age 61 with 30 years of 
service credit and a monthly Average Final 
Compensation of $5,000, your monthly 
benefit is $3,000, calculated as follows:

2% x 30 x $5,000 = $3,000

Planning for retirement
Even though retirement might seem far away, 
planning for it now is one of the best things 
you can do for yourself and your family. Your 
monthly benefit will be an important part 
of your income in retirement, but it is just a 
portion of what you will need.

How do you begin developing your personal 
plan for retirement? First, estimate how much 
money you will need. That can vary based on 
factors that include:

	• The lifestyle you’ll want to lead when you 
retire

	• Your health
	• Whether you’ll carry any debt into 

retirement
	• Your life expectancy

Next, estimate how much money you will 
receive from all sources, such as your defined 
contribution, Social Security, personal savings 
and other employer pension plans. When you 
compare this number with what you think you 
will need, you can adjust your savings plan 
accordingly.

Many tools can help you plan. Here are some 
on the DRS websiteDRS website:

	•  Live webinarsLive webinars are available to attend 
online. Topics include Plan 2, Plan 1, 
plan choice, the Deferred Compensation 
Program (DCP), distributions from Plan 
1, investment basics and Social Security 
basics.

	• Retirement seminars are available to 
attend in person. You can also watch 
seminars when it’s convenient for you on 
the DRS Retirement SeminarsRetirement Seminars webpage. 
Topics include Plan 1, Plan 2, Plan 1, DCP, 
Social Security and health care options, 
and the Voluntary Employees’ Beneficiary 
Association (VEBA).

	• The benefit estimator within your online online 
accountaccount can calculate your monthly 
benefit based on a variety of scenarios 
(for example, different retirement dates) 
using your actual account data. If you 
haven’t already registered for this service, 
it takes just a few minutes to do so.

	• The Deferred Compensation ProgramDeferred Compensation Program 
(DCP) is a special type of savings program 
that helps you invest for the retirement 
lifestyle you want to achieve. Unlike 
traditional savings accounts, DCP is 
tax-deferred. That means it lowers your 
taxable income while you are working 
and it delays payments of income on 
your investments until you withdraw your 
funds. Contributions are automatically 
deducted from your paycheck, so saving is 
easy. You can start with as little as $30 per 
month. You can also let your contributions 
grow with percentage deductions.

Be sure to revisit your plan periodically and 
adjust for any changes in your professional and 
personal life.

www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/education/webinar/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/retirement-planning/seminar/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp
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Milestones/life changes
Becoming vested
When you have at least five years of service 
credit in TRS Plan 1, you have a vested right 
to a retirement benefit. This is a significant 
milestone in your public service career.

Leaving public service
If you leave TRS employment, you can choose 
to either leave your contributions in the plan 
until you’re eligible to retire or withdraw them. 

If you leave your contributions in the plan, they 
will earn 5.5% interest annually, compounded 
quarterly. If you later return to a TRS-covered 
position, you retain your service credit from 
the earlier service. The IRS requires that you 
begin taking payment of your monthly benefit 
no later than age 70½, unless you are still 
employed.

Leaving TRS-covered employment is the only 
circumstance in which you can withdraw your 
contributions. Doing so cancels any rights 
and benefit you have accrued in TRS. You can 
restore your contributions and re-establish 
your benefit only in certain circumstances (see 
the next section). 

There are tax implications to withdrawing 
your contributions, so you might want to 
contact the IRS or a tax advisor before making 
a decision. The Withdrawal of Retirement Withdrawal of Retirement 
ContributionsContributions publication offers more detailed 
information.

Be sure to keep us up to date on any changes 
to your name, address or beneficiary. It’s 
important that you keep your beneficiary 
designation current, because a divorce, 
marriage or other circumstance might 
invalidate it.

Returning to public service
If you don’t withdraw your contributions when 
you leave and return to work for a state agency 
or public school position that the Public 
Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) covers, 
then you will remain in TRS.

If you leave your position, withdraw your 
contributions and later return to TRS work, you 
might be able to restore your previous service 
credit. To do so, you must pay at least 20% of 
the contributions you withdrew plus interest by 
June 30 of the fifth fiscal year after returning 
to TRS membership. The remaining bill balance 
must be paid by June 30 of the fourth fiscal 
year following the fiscal year in which you first 
began repaying the contributions or before 
you retire, whichever comes first. 

Payments can be made in a lump sum or in 
installments. If you choose installments, the 
first one must be 20% or more of the total 
amount due. Contact us to find out that 
amount. Partial restorations aren’t allowed.

If you withdraw your contributions and later 
want to return to TRS membership, you can:

	• Work as a contracted teacher for at least 
90 days within the fiscal year (July 1-June 
30)

	• Work as a substitute for at least the 
equivalent of 90 full-time days within the 
fiscal year

A dual member, or someone who belongs 
to more than one retirement system, might 
be able to restore service credit earned in a 
retirement system other than TRS. Each time 
you become a dual member, you’ll have 24 
months to restore service credit earned in a 
previous retirement system.

It might still be possible to buy service credit 
after the deadline has passed. However, the 
cost in that case can often be much higher. 
You can learn more by reading Plan 1 Recovery Plan 1 Recovery 
of Withdrawn or Optional Service Creditof Withdrawn or Optional Service Credit. You 
might find helpful information in What Is Dual What Is Dual 
Membership and How Does It Affect Me?Membership and How Does It Affect Me? as 
well.

T

https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/withdrawalretirementcontributionsform.pdf
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https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1recovery/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1recovery/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
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Marriage or divorce
Marrying, divorcing or separating can affect 
your monthly benefit.

Court-ordered property division
A court-ordered property division could affect 
your benefit. As long as the order complies 
with applicable laws, we will pay a monthly 
benefit to your ex-spouse according to 
the division. The DRS publication How Can How Can 
a Property Division Affect My Retirement a Property Division Affect My Retirement 
Account?Account? contains detailed information.

Updating your beneficiary
The beneficiary information you give DRS 
tells us the person(s) you want to receive your 
remaining benefit, if any, after your death. 
You can submit or update your beneficiary 
information at any time before retirement in 
your online retirement accountonline retirement account. Sign up for 
or log in to your account. Then select My 
Account > View/Edit (beside Beneficiary). 
You have the option of submitting a paper 
Beneficiary DesignationBeneficiary Designation form instead, if you 
prefer.  

If you marry or divorce before you retire, you 
need to update your beneficiary information, 
even if your beneficiary remains the same. 
It’s important that you keep your beneficiary 
designation up to date.

If the unexpected happens
Temporary leave from your job
You might need to take a temporary leave 
from your job because of:

	• Military service
	• An authorized leave of absence
	• A temporary disability

If so, you might be able to obtain service 
credit for work time missed while you were on 
leave.

Service credit for military service
If you left your position for uniformed military 
service, you might be eligible to receive service 
credit for that period of military service. 

To qualify, you must:
	• Apply for a position with a TRS employer 

after receiving an honorable discharge
	• Pay the contributions within five years of 

returning to employment or before you 
retire, whichever comes first

If you become totally incapacitated as a result 
of serving in the United States military, you (or 
your surviving spouse or children, in the case 
of your death) can apply for military service 
credit without your return to employment. 
Read TRS Plan 1 Military Service CreditTRS Plan 1 Military Service Credit for 
more information.

Service credit for an unpaid, authorized  
leave of absence
You could be able to earn up to four years 
of out-of-state teaching service credit for an 
unpaid leave of absence that your employer 
authorized. To do so, you must:

	• Return to work in a TRS-covered position
	• Pay your contributions with interest for 

the period of time you were on leave

To do so, you must start paying your employee 
contributions within five fiscal years of 
returning to service. You must finish paying 
your contributions plus interest by the end 
of the fourth fiscal year following your first 
payment. You can learn more by reading Using Using 
or Purchasing Out-of-State Service Creditor Purchasing Out-of-State Service Credit.

Disability before retirement
In some cases, you can obtain service credit for 
up to two years of missed work time while you 
were on leave for a temporary disability.

If you become totally incapacitated and leave 
your job as a result, you might be eligible for a 
disability retirement benefit.

To learn more, please refer to TRS Plan 1 TRS Plan 1 
Disability BenefitsDisability Benefits or call us for information.

Death before retirement
If you have fewer than 10 years of service credit 
at the time of your death, your accumulated 
contributions plus interest will be paid to your 
beneficiary.

www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/propertydivision/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/propertydivision/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/propertydivision/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/beneficiaryDesignationForm.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/military/trs1mil/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/tree_T1.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/tree_T1.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/trs/trs1disability/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/trs/trs1disability/
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If you have 10 or more years of service credit 
at the time of your death, your spouse (or 
the guardian of your minor children, if you 
aren’t married) can choose to receive either a 
lump sum payment of your contributions plus 
interest or a monthly benefit. If you don’t have 
a surviving spouse or minor children, your 
contributions plus interest will be paid to your 
beneficiary or estate.

The monthly benefit will be calculated as if 
you had retired and chosen a 100% survivor 
benefit (see Option 2 on page 11 in the 
“Ready to retire” section of this handbook). 

If your surviving spouse dies while receiving 
the benefit, your minor children will receive the 
benefit that was being paid to your surviving 
spouse. The benefit will be divided equally 
among the children, and each will receive their 
portion until they turn 18.

An additional, one-time death benefit might 
also be payable to your beneficiary. If you die 
while employed full time in a TRS position or 
when eligible to receive temporary disability 
benefits, your beneficiary will receive $600. If 
you die after ending TRS-covered employment 
with at least 10 years of service credit or when 
eligible to retire, your beneficiary will receive 
$400. 

Death as a result of an injury or occupational 
disease sustained during employment
If the Department of Labor & IndustriesDepartment of Labor & Industries 
determines that your death was the result 
of injuries sustained during the course of 
employment or an occupational disease or 
infection that arose from your employment, 
your beneficiary will be entitled to a one-time, 
duty-related death benefit.

Refund of contributions after  
30 years of service credit
Do you have at least 30 service credit years? 
If so, you can make a one-time, permanent 
choice to participate in a program in which 
post-30-year contributions are refunded at 

retirement. To do so, you must sign up within 
six months of earning 30 service credit years.

Program participants earn 7.5% interest on their 
post-30-year contributions. If you participate, 
your monthly benefit will be based on your 
earnings before you joined the program. 

Before your 30th service credit year, DRS will 
contact you with information to help you make 
an informed decision. To learn more, read TRS TRS 
Plan 1: Post-30-Year ProgramPlan 1: Post-30-Year Program.

Approaching retirement

Retirement planning checkup
Consider taking time to check in on your 
retirement planning. Have you analyzed how 
much you will need and how much you will 
have in retirement? Has anything in your plan 
changed? Have you joined the state’s Deferred Deferred 
Compensation Program (DCP)Compensation Program (DCP) or another 
supplemental savings program?

Things to consider:
	• Identify your retirement lifestyle goals. 

Will you want to travel the world or stay 
close to home? Different lifestyle choices 
can mean different financial goals.

	• Take care of your health. The cost of 
medical care can be one of the largest 
expenses you incur in retirement. Getting 
regular checkups now and maintaining 
a healthy lifestyle can have an impact on 
what those costs will be when you retire.

	• Pay down debt. Debt lessens the money 
you have available to save. Paying off 
debt while you’re still generating a 
paycheck will affect how much you have 
to save and give you greater flexibility in 
retirement.

	• Sign up for DCP or another similar 
savings vehicle. (It’s never too late to 
get started.) If you’re already saving with 
DCP or another plan, consider increasing 
your contribution amount. Making even a 
small increase can make a big difference 

T

http://www.lni.wa.gov/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/trs/t30yr/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/trs/t30yr/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp
http://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp


10drs.wa.gov

over the long run. Use the calculatorcalculator 
on the DCP website to see the impact 
different contribution amounts could 
have. Here’s an important tip: If you’re 
age 50 or older, the IRS allows a higher 
contribution limit, which enables you to 
save even more in your DCP account if 
you choose.

These questions are key as you approach 
retirement.

	• How much income will you need in 
retirement?

	• What will your monthly benefit be?
	• How will your benefit change if you work 

past age 65 or decide to retire after 
accruing 30 years of service credit?

	• Will you want to increase your benefit by 
purchasing additional service credit?

	• What other income will you have 
available to you in retirement?

This section can help you find the answers. 
If you haven’t already signed up for an 
online accountonline account, consider doing so. With this 
account, you can calculate your benefit using 
different scenarios and your individual account 
information. 

Service retirement
You are eligible to retire with a full benefit if 
you have at least five years of service credit 
when you meet the age requirement. 

For active and inactive members (see 
membership status in the glossary), you can 
retire at:

	• Any age with at least 30 years of service 
credit

	• Age 55 with at least 25 years of service 
credit

	• Age 60 with at least five years of service 
credit

This formula will be used to calculate your 
monthly benefit:

2% x service credit years x AFC = 
monthly benefit

Your benefit calculation will use up to 30 years 
of service credit. AFC is the average of your 
two consecutive highest paid fiscal years. And 
in most cases, your benefit can be no higher 
than 60% of your AFC.

If your monthly benefit is less than $50, 
you can choose to take a lump sum 
retirement benefit. (It’s likely that only a 
member who retires early on disability or 
as a dual member would receive this type 
of payment.) If you receive a lump sum 
payment, you are considered retired from 
TRS. 

Example 
Service retirement

If you retire at age 60 with 20 years of 
service credit and a monthly Average Final 
Compensation of $3,700, your monthly 
benefit is $1,480 each month, calculated 
as follows:

2% x 20 x $3,700 = $1,480

Using out-of-state service credit to qualify  
for early or normal retirement
If you’re a vested member who earned service 
credit in an out-of-state retirement system 
that covers teachers, you may use that credit 
to qualify for retirement. No cost and no limit 
apply to how much out-of-state service credit 
you may use. Your retirement benefit will be 
based only on your Washington state service 
credit; out-of-state service credit isn’t used in 
the calculation of your benefit. 

For more information, read TRS Plan 1 Using or TRS Plan 1 Using or 
Purchasing Out-of-State Service Credit.Purchasing Out-of-State Service Credit.

Using sick leave to qualify for retirement
You may use up to 45 days of unused sick 
leave to help you qualify for retirement. Sick 
leave not cashed out by your employer may be 
converted into a maximum of three months of 
service credit. However, this service credit isn’t 
used in the calculation of your benefit. It can 
only be used to qualify for retirement.

www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/dcp/calculator/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/tree_T1.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/tree_T1.pdf
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Retiring as a dual member
If you are a member of more than one 
Washington state retirement system, you are a 
dual member. You can combine service credit 
earned in all dual member systems to become 
eligible for retirement.

In most cases, your monthly benefit will be 
based on the highest base salary you earned, 
regardless of which system you earned it in. 
Base salary includes your wages and  
overtime and can include other cash payments 
if those payments are included as base salary 
in all the retirement systems you are retiring 
from. 

Example 
Dual member

If you retire at age 65 with three years of 
service credit from PERS Plan 1 and four 
from the Teachers’ Retirement System 
(TRS) Plan 1, you are a dual member. 
Without dual membership, your service 
would not be eligible for a monthly benefit 
from either system. With dual membership, 
your service credit is combined, giving you 
enough to retire. Your benefit from each 
is calculated with service from that system. 
This is how your benefit is calculated:

2% x 3 (PERS service credit years) x 
Average Final Compensation (AFC) = 
PERS benefit

2% x 4 (TRS service credit years)  
x AFC = TRS benefit

PERS benefit + TRS benefit = total  
monthly benefit 

Maximum benefit
If you retire as a dual member, your total 
benefit cannot exceed the amount you would 
have received if all your service had been in a 
single system. The maximum benefit limitation 
applies only if you have: 

	• 15 or more service credit years in a plan 
with a benefit cap

	• More than 30 years total combined 
service

For more information, read the Dual Dual 
Membership Membership webpage.

Estimating your benefit
If you are within five years of retirement, we 
encourage you to review your online accountonline account 
and use the online benefit estimator to 
determine how much your benefit might be. 
You can use this estimator at any point in your 
career.

If you expect to retire within the next year, 
contact us through your online accountonline account or call 
to request a written estimate of your benefit.

Annuity options
An annuity is a guaranteed income plan you 
purchase. When retiring, TRS Plan 1 members 
have two available annuitiesavailable annuities. 

TRS Plan annuity: With this annuity, the 
retirement benefit increase you receive is 
based on the dollar amount you choose to 
purchase. There are no minimum or maximum 
purchase amounts. Estimate the monthly 
retirement income increase through the 
“Purchase an Annuity” calculator in your online online 
accountaccount.

Service credit annuity: This annuity allows 
you to add up to 60 months to your service in 
the final pension calculation. Purchased service 
credit does not actually increase the number 
of years you’ve worked and won’t help you 
qualify for retirement, but it can make a big 
impact when it comes to your pension benefit! 
Estimate the monthly retirement income 
increase as well as the annuity cost through the 
“Purchasing Service” calculator in your online online 
accountaccount. So how do you fund this annuity? 
Many members use their DCP savings account. 

For more information about these annuities, 
see DRS annuitiesDRS annuities.

Ready to retire
T

https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/dualmembership/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/annuity/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/annuity/
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Applying for retirement online 
To apply online, go to your online accountonline account and 
either sign up for or log in to your account. 
The online retirement application will display 
only what you need based on your retirement 
system, plan and retirement eligibility rules. 
Follow the step-by-step instructions and 
electronically submit the application to us 
when you’re ready.

Applying for retirement on paper
Request a retirement application from us. 
Submit the completed application with all 
required signatures and documentation, 
including proof of age for your survivor if you 
choose a Survivor Option (see Options 2, 3 and 
4).

If you’re purchasing service credit, complete 
and turn in your Request to Purchase 
Retirement Service Credit form with your 
application.

Your benefit options
When you apply for retirement, you will choose 
one of five benefit options. Once you retire, 
you can change your option in only limited, 
specific circumstances, so choose carefully.

Maximum Option
Single Life
This option pays the highest monthly amount 
of the five choices, but it is for your lifetime 
only. No one will receive an ongoing benefit 
after you die. Any remaining value of your 
accumulated contributions will remain with 
the trust fund. However, your beneficiary will 
receive any unpaid final monthly benefit due.

Option 1
Single Life
This option pays the second-highest monthly 
amount of the five choices, but it is for your 
lifetime only. No one will receive an ongoing 
benefit after you die. If you die before the 
benefit you have received equals your 
contributions plus interest (as of the date of 
your retirement), the difference will be paid in 
a lump sum to your designated beneficiary.

Option 2
Joint and 100% survivor
Your monthly benefit under this option is less 
than the Single Life Option. But after your 
death, your survivor will receive the same 
benefit you were receiving for their lifetime.

Option 3
Joint and 50% survivor
This option applies a smaller reduction to your 
monthly benefit than Option 2. After your 
death, your survivor will receive half the benefit 
you were receiving for their lifetime.

Option 4
Joint and 66.67% survivor
This option applies a smaller reduction to your 
benefit than Option 2 and a larger reduction 
than Option 3. After your death, your survivor 
will receive 66.67% (or roughly two-thirds) of 
the benefit you were receiving for their lifetime.

You must get consent in certain circumstances
If you are married, legally separated or a 
registered domestic partner and do not leave 
a survivor option for your spouse/partner, 
the law requires their consent to your choice. 
If their notarized consent is not provided on 
your retirement application, your benefit will 
be calculated at Option 3 and they will be the 
designated survivor.

www.drs.wa.gov
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
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Health insurance coverage
Ask your employer if you will be eligible for 
health insurance coverage through the Public Public 
Employees Benefits Board (PEBB)Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) once you 
retire. You can also contact the Health Care 
Authority at 800-200-1004 or www.hca.wa.govwww.hca.wa.gov.

If you qualify for continuing coverage, you 
must meet strict timelines to apply or request 
a deferral. If you are not entitled to PEBB 
coverage, you might be eligible for health 
insurance your employer provides. For more 
information, contact your employer or HCA.

Federal benefit limit
When you retire, your benefit could be limited 
if it exceeds the federally allowed amount. It 
can be adjusted annually for inflation (see the 
current IRS limitsIRS limits). Members hired before Jan. 
1, 1990, have different limits. When we process 
your benefit estimate, we will notify you if your 
benefit exceeds the limit.

Few retirement system members should be 
impacted by this limit. If you think it could 
impact you, please call us for additional 
information.

Federal tax on your monthly benefit
Most, if not all, of your benefit will be subject 
to federal income tax. The only exception will 
be any portion that was taxed before it was 
contributed. When you retire, we will let you 
know if any portion of your contributions has 
already been taxed.

Since most public employers deduct 
contributions before taxes, it’s likely your entire 
retirement benefit will be taxable.

At retirement, you must complete and submit 
a federal W-4P formW-4P form to let us know how much 
of your benefit should be withheld for taxes. 
If you don’t, IRS rules require withholding 
as if you are married and claiming three 

exemptions. You can adjust your withholding 
amount at any time during retirement by 
completing a new W-4P formW-4P form.

For each tax year you receive a retirement 
benefit, we will provide you with a 1099-R form 
to use in preparing your tax return (see 1099-R 1099-R 
informationinformation). These forms are usually mailed 
at the end of January for the previous year. 
The information is also available through your 
online accountonline account.

It is your responsibility to declare the proper 
amount of taxable income on your income tax 
return.

Legal actions
In general, your monthly benefit isn’t subject 
to assignment or attachment. However, it 
could be subject to court and administrative 
orders issued under federal law or for spousal 
maintenance and child support.

You can find more information in the 
publication Can Legal Action Affect My Can Legal Action Affect My 
Retirement Account?Retirement Account?

When and how your benefit will  
be paid
After you retire, your retirement benefit will 
be paid at the end of each month and directly 
deposited in your financial institution account. 
You must enter your banking information in 
your online retirement accountonline retirement account or complete 
the Direct Deposit AuthorizationDirect Deposit Authorization form as part 
of your paper retirement application.

If you need to change your financial institution 
once you’ve started your retirement, just 
update your information in your online account 
or send us a new authorization form. 

In rare cases, if you are unable to receive 
payment by direct deposit, payment will be 
mailed at the end of each month.

T

http://www.hca.wa.gov/public-employee-benefits
http://www.hca.wa.gov/public-employee-benefits
http://www.hca.wa.gov
http://www.hca.wa.gov
http://www.hca.wa.gov
https://www.drs.wa.gov/irs/limits/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/w4p.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/w4p.pdf
https://www.drs.wa.gov/irs/1099-r/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/irs/1099-r/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/legalorderaffect/
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
https://www.drs.wa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/authorizationDirectDepositForm.pdf
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Once you retire
Optional Cost-of-Living Adjustment 
(COLA)
When you apply for retirement, you can 
choose to receive the Optional COLA in 
exchange for a lowered monthly benefit. (See 
your benefit estimate.) If you choose the COLA, 
on July 1 of every year following your first full 
year of retirement, your monthly benefit will 
be adjusted to a maximum of 3% per year, as 
determined by the Consumer Price IndexConsumer Price Index.

Make your Optional COLA choice on your 
retirement application. Once you submit your 
application, your choice is permanent. To see 
your benefit with and without the Optional 
COLA, try the Optional COLA calculatorOptional COLA calculator.

Other adjustments
Several other COLAs apply to small groups of 
members. For more information, see the Plan 1 Plan 1 
Optional COLA Frequently Asked QuestionsOptional COLA Frequently Asked Questions.

Working after retirement
If you return to public service in Washington 
state after you retire, your benefit could be 
affected, depending on the position and 
number of hours you work.

In certain circumstances, you might be required 
to become a member of, and pay contributions 
to, another retirement system. You might be 
able to work limited hours with no impact to 
your benefit.

If you think you might be returning to work 
after retirement, call us to see if your benefit 
will be affected. Consider reviewing the 
Thinking About Working After Retirement?Thinking About Working After Retirement? 
publication.

Benefit overpayments or  
underpayments
If you ever receive an overpayment of your 
monthly benefit, you are required to repay it. If 
we discover your benefit has been underpaid, 
we will correct the error and award you a 
retroactive payment, if applicable. 

Changing a benefit option or  
survivor after you retire
Once you retire, you may change your 
benefit option or survivor in the following 
circumstances only:

	• If you name someone other than 
your spouse to receive your survivor 
benefit, you can change to an Option 
1 (no survivor) benefit at any time after 
retirement.

	• If you choose a Survivor Option (Option 
2, 3 or 4) and your named survivor dies 
before you do, your monthly benefit 
can be adjusted to the higher Option 1 
payment level. Be sure to notify us to 
begin this change.

	• If you marry or remarry after retirement 
and remain married for at least one 
year, you might be able to change your 
benefit option and provide a survivor 
benefit for your new spouse. To qualify 
for this opportunity, you must request 
the change during your second year of 
marriage. Contact us for estimates on 
how this will affect your monthly benefit. 
Also, be aware that this opportunity 
might not be available if a court-ordered 
property division has impacted your 
benefit.

	• If you re-enter TRS membership and then 
retire again, you can choose a different 
Survivor Option when you retire again.

www.drs.wa.gov
https://www.bls.gov/cpi/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/multisystem/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/member/faq/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/member/faq/plan1optionalcola/
https://www.drs.wa.gov/publications/member/trs/trs1returntowork/
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Glossary of terms
Average Final Compensation (AFC): The 
monthly average of your two consecutive 
highest paid fiscal years. Your Average Final 
Compensation is used in determining your 
monthly benefit.

Beneficiary: The person(s), estate, organization 
or trust you have designated to receive 
any benefit payable upon your death. 
Your beneficiary must have a federal tax 
identification number or a Social Security 
number.

Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA): If you 
choose the Plan 1 Optional COLA, on July 
1 of every year following your first full year 
of retirement, your monthly benefit will be 
adjusted to reflect the percentage change in 
the Consumer Price Index — to a maximum of 
3% per year. 

Defined benefit: A retirement plan in which 
your benefit is based on a formula rather than 
an account balance. The formula provides a 
monthly benefit based on your years of service 
and your Average Final Compensation.

Domestic partner: In a registered domestic 
partnership, both individuals have met the 
state’s legal requirements and registered their 
partnership with the Secretary of State’s Office 
or another jurisdiction. Contact the Secretary of 
State’s Office if you have questions about the 
requirements. Registered domestic partners 
have the same survivor and death benefits as 
married spouses. However, differences could 
occur in how taxes are handled at the federal 
level. 

Dual member: You are a dual member if you 
have established membership in more than 
one Washington state retirement system, 
including First Class City retirement systems for 
Seattle, Spokane and Tacoma, but excluding 
Plan 1 of the Law Enforcement Officers’ and 
Fire Fighters’ Retirement System.

Membership status: The status of your 
retirement membership. This can be: 

•	 Active, which means you are currently 
employed in a position covered by one of 
the state retirement systems

•	 Inactive, which means you no longer are  
actively contributing to the state 
retirement system and have not 
withdrawn your contributions after 
leaving employment (which might leave 
you eligible to receive a benefit once you 
reach retirement age) 

•	 Withdrawn, which means you were 
employed in a position covered by one 
of the state retirement systems and you 
withdrew your contributions after leaving 
employment

Reduced benefit: A benefit that has been 
decreased by a factor provided by the Office 
of the State Actuary. A benefit is reduced when 
you retire and select a Survivor Option (which 
pays a benefit to your survivor after your 
death).

Service credit: The credit you receive each 
month for working in a position covered by 
one of the state retirement systems. Service 
credit is used to determine your eligibility for 
retirement and your benefit amount.

Survivor: The individual you choose — when 
picking Option 2, 3 or 4 at retirement — to 
receive benefit payments after your death.

System/plan: The retirement system and plan 
in which you are a member.

Vested: You have earned the right to receive a 
retirement benefit once you reach an eligible 
age.

T
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