
TRS Plan 1
Thinking About Working After Retirement?
Washington State Department of Retirement Systems

This publication describes what could happen to your Teachers’ Retirement System Plan 1 benefit if you 
return to work for an employer covered by one of the state retirement systems. You can return to work 

for an employer not covered by a Washington state retirement system without impacting your monthly 
benefit unless you are a disability retiree.

You must fully retire before you can be covered under  
return-to-work laws. To do so, you must:

•	 Meet the age and service requirements for retirement
•	 File an application for retirement with the Department of 

Retirement Systems (DRS)
•	 End all employment with any DRS-covered employer(s)
•	 Sever all contractual agreements (written or verbal) for 

future employment with your DRS-covered employer(s)

Taking these actions will establish your effective retirement date 
as the first day of the month following the month in which you 
became eligible for retirement. 

Example 1

Maria applies for retirement and terminates her employment 
Aug. 15, 2017. She meets the age and service requirements. 
Her effective retirement date is Sept. 1, 2017.

Example 2
Quinn applied for retirement and terminated his employment 
July 15, 2016. He had enough service credit to meet the 
requirements for retirement. However, he did not meet the 
age requirement until March 22, 2017. His effective retirement 
date, therefore, was April 1, 2017. 

What should I do before I return to work?

Before you return to work for a DRS-covered employer, tell the 
employer you are a retiree. If the employer doesn’t know you are 
retired, you could be reported as an active member, which might 
stop your benefit. Ask the employer about your eligibility for 
membership in a DRS or higher education retirement plan. If you 
have questions, contact DRS.

Questions 
answered inside
How soon can I return  
to work?

What if I return to 
work before my 
effective retirement 
date?

How many hours 
can I work each year 
and still receive my 
benefit?

What if I retired as  
a dual member?

What happens if I 
work more than the 
annual limit?

What if I am  
receiving a disability 
retirement?

Can I return to active 
membership?

Which hours count  
toward the annual 
limit?

When do I become a retiree?
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Aug. 15, 2017. She meets the age and service requirements. 
Her effective retirement date is Sept. 1, 2017.

Example 2
Quinn applied for retirement and terminated his employment 
July 15, 2016. He had enough service credit to meet the 
requirements for retirement. However, he did not meet the 
age requirement until March 22, 2017. His effective retirement 
date, therefore, was April 1, 2017. 
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How soon can I return to work?

First, leave all DRS-covered employment, 
regardless of whether your employment is 
being reported to DRS. Then you must wait at 
least 30 consecutive days after your effective 
retirement date before returning to work. 

If you return to work for a DRS-covered 
employer in any capacity before 30 days have 
passed, your benefit will be reduced by 5.5% for 
every seven hours you work in a month — up 
to 140 hours.

If the reduction is more than your monthly 
benefit, the excess will be taken from the next 
month’s payment. The reduction will continue 
until you stop working for a full 30 days. This 
rule also applies to substituting.

What if I return to work before 
my effective retirement date?

If you terminate employment and file a 
retirement application but return to work 
before your effective retirement date, your 
application for retirement will be canceled. 

Because you will not be considered retired, you 
will return to active membership if you return to 
an eligible position, and you will be required to 
pay member contributions.

How many hours can I work each 
year and still receive my benefit?

You must be separated from employment for 
at least 30 days after your effective retirement 
date before you can return to work for an 
educational employer and continue to receive 
an unreduced benefit. 

Before you retire from your current place of 
employment, you must not have a written or 
verbal agreement to return to work. Once you 
have been retired for at least 30 consecutive 

calendar days, additional rules apply based on 
the date you retired and where you plan to 
return to work.

The following rules apply when you return 
to work as a full-time employee or substitute 
for a public educational institution in 
Washington state — such as with a K-12 
employer, community college or university — 
or in a position eligible for a higher education 
retirement plan (HERP):
•	 You can work up to 867 hours in a fiscal 

year (July 1 – June 30) without impacting 
your retirement benefit.

•	 Your TRS Plan 1 retirement benefit will be 
suspended once you work more than 867 
hours within a fiscal year. Your benefit will 
resume the first of the month following 
your last day of employment or the start 
of the next fiscal year when the number 
of hours you may work resets to 867, 
whichever comes first. 

•	 HERPs are non-DRS retirement plans 
offered by institutions of higher education, 
such as the University of Washington 
Retirement Plan and Western Washington 
University Retirement Plan. If you work for 
a higher education employer, check with 
your employer to find out whether your 
position is HERP-eligible.

If you return to work for a state agency or 
political subdivision, such as for a city, county or 
other public employer, you have no retire/rehire 
limitations. Hours you work for a state agency 
or political subdivision will not impact your TRS 
Plan 1 monthly retirement benefit.

What if I retired as a  
dual member? 

A dual member retiree is someone who  
has combined service credit earned in  
more than one retirement system to qualify for 
retirement. If you retired as a dual  
member, contact DRS to find out the impacts 
returning to work will have on your monthly 
benefit.
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What happens if I work more 
than the annual limit?

If you are employed in an eligible position 
and work more than the allowed 867 hours 
within a fiscal year, your monthly benefit will be 
suspended for the remainder of the fiscal year 
or until you terminate your employment. In the 
month you exceed the limit, your benefit will be 
prorated.

Example

Min retires effective July 1, 2017, and returns 
to work for a school district Sept. 1, 2017. 
She works as a substitute teacher. On May 
14, 2018, she exceeds the 867-hour limit. She 
receives a partial monthly benefit for May 
but will not receive a benefit in June. Min’s 
benefit restarts July 1, 2018.

DRS will notify you in writing when you  
near your hourly limit. Once you exceed your 
limit, DRS will tell your employer. You can also 
track your hours by logging into (or signing up 
for) online account access at www.drs.wa.gov/
oaa. 

What if I am receiving a  
disability retirement?

If you are a disability retiree, returning to any 
kind of employment could affect your monthly 
benefit. 

Your return to work could mean you are no 
longer disabled and, therefore, no longer 
eligible to receive a disability retirement. 

If you retired because of a disability and are 
considering returning to work, contact DRS.  

Can I return to active  
membership?

You aren’t required to return to TRS 
membership, but you can choose to if you  
are a TRS Plan 1 retiree; are employed in a 
full-time, TRS-covered position; and at least 
90 days have passed since you retired. Your 
return to active TRS membership could impact 
your future retirement benefit. Contact DRS 
for a benefit estimate before returning to 
membership.

If you retired with fewer than 15 years of service 
credit, you can become a contributing member 
of the Public Employees’, School Employees’, 
or Law Enforcement Officers’ and Fire Fighters’ 
retirement systems. However, your TRS benefit 
might be suspended pending termination of 
your employment.

Which hours count toward  
the annual limit?

All hours for which you receive compensation 
count toward the annual limit. This includes 
paid holidays or compensatory time, sick leave, 
and annual leave taken in place of normal work 
hours. 

Sick leave or annual leave that is cashed out at 
the end of an employment period doesn’t count 
toward the limit. Cashed out compensatory 
time does count toward the limit.

You can have your monthly retirement benefit directly deposited into 
your bank account. To get started or change financial institutions,  
log in to (or sign up for) online account access at www.drs.wa.gov/oaa.

Fast fact

http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
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This document is a summary. It is not a complete description of working after retirement. State retirement laws govern your benefit. If a conflict 
exists between the information in this document and what is contained in current law, the law governs.

Overpayments and underpayments: If you 
receive an overpayment of your monthly benefit, 
you will be required to repay it to DRS. If you 
receive an underpayment, DRS will correct 
the error and pay you the amount owed. Your 
employer reports your hours to DRS. But you are 
responsible for ensuring the correct information 
is reported.

Health care: If you have retired from state 
government, a public education institution or a 
local government employer participating in the 
Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB), you have 
the option to return to PEBB-sponsored coverage 
when you return to full retirement status. 

If you have questions about your health care 
coverage, contact the Health Care Authority 
at 800-200-1004 or visit www.hca.wa.gov. If 
you have retired from employment with local 
government, you will need to coordinate with 
your employer and health care provider to 

determine your health care options.

DCP: If you are receiving Deferred  
Compensation Program (DCP) payments and 
return to work for an employer offering DCP, 
your payments will cease. You can restart them 
after you end employment. If you aren’t yet 
receiving DCP payments and you return to work, 
you can keep contributing to your account. If  
you have questions, contact DCP at  
888-327-5596 or dcpinfo@drs.wa.gov.

Contract work with a Washington state 
educational institution: As a TRS retiree, your 
employment status and rights differ from those 
of an active, tenured teacher. The duration 
of a return-to-work contract is limited to one 
year. However, a contract can be renewed each 
year at the discretion of your employer. For 
more information, contact the Office of the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) at 
360-725-6000 or visit www.k12.wa.us.

General information

To contact DRS

Write Email

Website

Call

 
 

HoursVisit
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/map.htm

mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov
mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov
mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov
mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov mailto:recep@drs.wa.gov

http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa http://www.drs.wa.gov/oaa

http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov 
http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov 
http://www.drs.wa.gov http://www.drs.wa.gov

http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm 
http://www.drs.wa.gov/administration/contact.htm

360.664.7000
800.547.6657
TTY  711

Department of 
Retirement Systems
PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA  98504

General inquiries:
recep@drs.wa.gov

Send a secure message 
through your online account: 
drs.wa.gov/oaa

drs.wa.gov

You can also send email 
through the Contact Us 
page on the DRS website.

Monday - Friday
8 am to 5 pm
Pacific Time

6835 Capitol Blvd.
Tumwater, WA  98501

See the DRS website for 
directions.

http://www.hca.wa.gov
http://www.k12.wa.us

