DRS Advisory Committee


The committee’s mission is to facilitate the sharing of information between DRS and the associations and organizations representing active and retired members of the public pension plans administered by DRS.


The objectives of the DRS Retirement Advisory Committee are to:

  • Identify and communicate client service issues to the Director
  • Communicate association and organization legislative initiatives to the Director
  • Share information provided by the Director with constituents
  • Develop and recommend ways to improve communication between DRS and active and retired members


The Director of the Department of Retirement Systems established the DRS Retirement Advisory Committee as an administrative committee in July 1996 after the State Retirement Advisory Committee was eliminated by statute.


Nominated by Washington state member or retiree organizations, committee members are appointed by the DRS Director and serve for a minimum three-year term.

View Members

DRS Advisory Committee – Current Board Members

Representing PERS Active Members

Andrea Lee, Washington Public Employees Association

Representing PERS Retirees

Bev Hermanson, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington

Representing TRS Active Members

Darrell Heisler, Washington School Personnel Association

Representing TRS Retirees

Nancy Baldwin (Committee Chair), Washington Education Association

Representing SERS Active Members

Jacque Meddles, Public School Employees of Washington

Representing SERS Retirees

Cheri Ingersoll, Washington State School Retirees’ Association

Representing PSERS Active Members

William Copland, Washington Federation of State Employees

Representing LEOFF Active Members

Chief Scott Bieber, WA Association of Sheriff and Police Chiefs

Representing LEOFF Retirees

Richard Warbrouck, Retired Firefighters of Washington

Representing Washington State Patrol Active Members

Captain Jason Ashley, Washington State Patrol

Representing Washington State Patrol Retirees

Rick Jensen, Washington State Patrol

Representing Judicial Active Members

Judge Julie Spector, Superior Court Judges Association

Representing DCP Participants

David Nowotny, Public School Employees of Washington, Deferred Compensation Program participant

Representing Experience in Defined Contribution Plan Administration

Deirdre Walker, Weyerhaeuser


The DRS Advisory Committee held a virtual meeting on Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2021, at 9:30 a.m.

The DRS Advisory Committee held a virtual meeting on Thursday, Apr. 8, 2021, at 9:30 a.m.

Meeting materials:

For information about the DRS Advisory Committee, call 360-664-7312 or write to DRS, Attention: Advisory Committee, PO Box 48380, Olympia, WA 98504-8380.

Back to Top